![]() |
Official Scoring Qwesshion
Pitcher 1 leaves the game with Able on 2B and one out.
Pitcher 2 is now pitching Baker hits grounder to the SS and the Able is out 6-5. Charlie is the next batter and homers. Earned runs are charged how? |
Quote:
Pitcher 1: 0 Pitcher 2: 2 |
I had the same question. Since Able was out on a fielders choice, isn't Baker still the responsibility of Pitcher 1. Had the shortstop just played the grounder 6-3 to retire Baker, who is responible for Able's earned run?
|
Happened tonight in Detroit vs Seattle game. Original scoring charged both runs to Pitcher 2, but has now been revised to one run charged to both P1 and P2, with P2 getting the loss.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
OK I went back and read the scoring rule. The first pitcher is charged with the number of runners he put on base - not the individual who was the runner.
10.16(g) When pitchers are changed during an inning, the official scorer shall not charge the relief pitcher with any run (earned or unearned) scored by a runner who was on base at the time such relief pitcher entered the game, nor for runs scored by any runner who reaches base on a fielder’s choice that puts out a runner left on base by any preceding pitcher. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25pm. |