![]() |
BI or OOO?
Outs: 2
Runner: R2 (stealing) Batter: 3-? count Pitch: outside for ball 4 BR begins to walk towards 1B, F2 upon catching the ball outside continues up the line another step and cocks to throw to 3B, but now the BR is in front of him. He takes another step up and this time fires, as the BR now realizes where F2 is and stops. The throw is on the mark, but just a little late (definitely a close play), my BU rules him safe. I call INT on the BR and call him out. Was I correct, or is BI no longer "valid" as this is a BR on a BB? :confused: |
The batter became a runner as a result of the base on balls, and has every right to start toward first base, as he is no longer considered a batter. The catcher must throw around him. Usually, the catcher is smart enough to know to throw behind the BR, not try to step in front of him.
|
I have nothing as well. There was no intent. And, the defense has to know the situation that the batter can now legally leave the box.
Play on and see what happens. Can't fault the offense for the defense screwing up. |
I think we see a play like this more often in terms of timing on a swinging strike three with R1 stealing. I don't think all instances of Interference have to be intentional.
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35pm. |