The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Two questions from the Cubs/Cards game (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/53947-two-questions-cubs-cards-game.html)

biggravy Sun Jul 12, 2009 09:36pm

Two questions from the Cubs/Cards game
 
Don't remember what inning, R1 slides into second well toward the outfield side of the bag to break up DP. He slides with his left hand down and his right hand high in the air. He is looking toward F4 when he puts his right hand up and the throw to F3 goes directly into R1's upstretched hand. After the contact he slides not on the bag, but to the outfield side of the bag. he is close enough however to roll over and reach the bag with his right hand. I am not an OBR expert, so where is the line between a legal slide and obstruction?

In the 9th inning, F1 (Marshall) is moved to F7 to bring in RHP F1 to pitch to one batter. After that batter is retired, F7 is brought back in to pitch. Is he treated as a new pitcher? Does he get warm up pitches again? What if he pitched as was moved to F7 in the 8th inning, then brought back in to pitch in the 9th? Does that change anything? Also, when he is brought back in from F7 does he need to pitch to one batter before being replaced, or does his previous pitching allow him to be replaced if a pinch hitter is announced?

Clear as mud? And no I am not a jock sniffer. :)

SanDiegoSteve Sun Jul 12, 2009 09:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by biggravy (Post 614193)
Don't remember what inning, R1 slides into second well toward the outfield side of the bag to break up DP. He slides with his left hand down and his right hand high in the air. He is looking toward F4 when he puts his right hand up and the throw to F3 goes directly into R1's upstretched hand. After the contact he slides not on the bag, but to the outfield side of the bag. he is close enough however to roll over and reach the bag with his right hand. I am not an OBR expert, so where is the line between a legal slide and obstruction?

First, it would be interference, not obstruction and second, unless he actually intentionally touched the ball when he reached for it, it sounds like a legal slide to me. I was watching the Futures game at the time, so I didn't see it.

Quote:

Originally Posted by biggravy (Post 614193)
In the 9th inning, F1 (Marshall) is moved to F7 to bring in RHP F1 to pitch to one batter. After that batter is retired, F7 is brought back in to pitch. Is he treated as a new pitcher? Does he get warm up pitches again? What if he pitched as was moved to F7 in the 8th inning, then brought back in to pitch in the 9th? Does that change anything? Also, when he is brought back in from F7 does he need to pitch to one batter before being replaced, or does his previous pitching allow him to be replaced if a pinch hitter is announced?


Rule 3.03 Comment: A pitcher may change to another position only once during the same inning; e.g. the pitcher will not be allowed to assume a position other than a pitcher more than once in the same inning.

Any player other than a pitcher substituted for an injured player shall be allowed five warm-up throws. (See Rule 8.03 for pitchers.)


Yes, he must again face one batter who must reach base or be retired before being replaced (except for injury.)

Quote:

Originally Posted by biggravy (Post 614193)
Clear as mud? And no I am not a jock sniffer. :)

Oh, sure!:)

FTVMartin Sun Jul 12, 2009 09:45pm

He only gets warm-ups once per inning. So if he comes back to pitch in the same inning he gets no throws.

IN the first sit. You have a clear cut interference when he raised his hand and interfered with the throw. Even if he goes straight into the bag, you have a legal slide but still have int by him raising his hands.

SanDiegoSteve Sun Jul 12, 2009 09:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by FTVMartin (Post 614196)

IN the first sit. You have a clear cut interference when he raised his hand and interfered with the throw. Even if he goes straight into the bag, you have a legal slide but still have int by him raising his hands.

Must be intentional on a thrown ball.

JR12 Sun Jul 12, 2009 10:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by FTVMartin (Post 614196)
He only gets warm-ups once per inning. So if he comes back to pitch in the same inning he gets no throws.

IN the first sit. You have a clear cut interference when he raised his hand and interfered with the throw. Even if he goes straight into the bag, you have a legal slide but still have int by him raising his hands.

Incorrect, Martin
PITCHER CHANGING TO A DEFENSIVE POSITION
Under casebook comment to the OBR 3.03. a pitcher may change to a defensive position other than pitcher once an inning. In other words, a pitcher may change to another defensive position and then return to the mound during the same inning (unless of course he is removed from the game) If such a pitcher returns to the mound during the same inning, he is allowed the usual 8 warm-up pitches.
MLBUM 7.3

Kevin Finnerty Sun Jul 12, 2009 10:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve (Post 614197)
Must be intentional on a thrown ball.

Correct, and that's the way it sounded.

Brett Sun Jul 12, 2009 10:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kevin Finnerty (Post 614208)
Correct, and that's the way it sounded.

It was intentional - he elevated the hand after starting his natural slide when he saw the fielder about to release the ball. Everyone not named Joe Morgan knew it was intentional. I was simply shocked there was no interference call. It might be the Cubbie blue in my veins, but I doubt it.

Fortunately, we no longer have to wonder about Adam Wainwright's intelligence.

"Hey I've got a good idea... I'm going to use my PITCHING hand to break up a meaningless DP in a game I'm leading by three runs."*



* He could have been up by one at the time; however, it still remains a stupid idea.

SanDiegoSteve Sun Jul 12, 2009 11:06pm

Maybe someone could post the video clip. I'm sure some ambitious person can manage that.

Brett Sun Jul 12, 2009 11:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve (Post 614212)
Maybe someone could post the video clip. I'm sure some ambitious person can manage that.

Baseball Video Highlights & Clips | STL@CHC: Wainwright slides hard to break up a DP - Video | stlcardinals.com: Multimedia

DG Sun Jul 12, 2009 11:34pm

R1 was the pitcher, can't see a pitcher throwing up his pitching hand intentionally.

SanDiegoSteve Sun Jul 12, 2009 11:34pm

Looked like a good slide to me. He was just executing a classic feet-first slide, in which both arms go up in the air to avoid injury (that's how I was taught the art of sliding by Jim Deitz of SDSU), so I'm with Morgan on this one. You can't call it intentional. Play the bounce.

Brett Mon Jul 13, 2009 12:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DG (Post 614216)
R1 was the pitcher, can't see a pitcher throwing up his pitching hand intentionally.

He sure brought his non-pitching hand down quickly. Oh wait - that hand wouldn't interfere with the throw. I can actually understand the no call (partially for the reason(s) SDS states), but I still respectfully disagree with it.

Rich Ives Mon Jul 13, 2009 12:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by FTVMartin (Post 614196)
He only gets warm-ups once per inning. So if he comes back to pitch in the same inning he gets no throws.

IN the first sit. You have a clear cut interference when he raised his hand and interfered with the throw. Even if he goes straight into the bag, you have a legal slide but still have int by him raising his hands.

He gets warm-ups each time he comes back. He's treated like a new pitcher. That's why he has to face one batter.

JR12 Mon Jul 13, 2009 06:17am

That had to hurt! Lucky he didn't sprain or break a finger.

UmpJM Mon Jul 13, 2009 06:22am

Sure looked like intentional interference with a thrown ball to me.

Probably pretty hard to see in "real time".

JM

mbyron Mon Jul 13, 2009 06:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) (Post 614240)
Sure looked like intentional interference with a thrown ball to me.

Probably pretty hard to see in "real time".

JM

I have to disagree.

We must distinguish 2 questions here:

1. Did the runner do something that put himself between the thrown ball and the receiving fielder (e.g. run toward F4, slide with his hands up, etc.), with the result that the thrown ball hit him? That's not INT.

2. Did the runner intentionally move in order to contact a thrown ball? That would be INT.

I see this case as no different from the one where the runner goes into 2B standing and gets plunked. Sure, he "intentionally" put himself in the way of the throw, and got hit. But that's not INT, and neither was this.

ASA/NYSSOBLUE Mon Jul 13, 2009 09:18am

Only watched B8/T9 last night, but that was long enough to see Classic Joe Morgan:

1. his rant, after the StL 2b had reached in and the ball popped out, about wanting to change the possession rule..and this from a former 2B!

2. And getting just about everything wrong about moving the P in and out of position...

someone here should keep serious track.....

SanDiegoSteve Mon Jul 13, 2009 09:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by FTVMartin (Post 614196)
He only gets warm-ups once per inning. So if he comes back to pitch in the same inning he gets no throws.

IN the first sit. You have a clear cut interference when he raised his hand and interfered with the throw. Even if he goes straight into the bag, you have a legal slide but still have int by him raising his hands.

Quote:

Originally Posted by ASA/NYSSOBLUE (Post 614280)
Only watched B8/T9 last night, but that was long enough to see Classic Joe Morgan:

1. his rant, after the StL 2b had reached in and the ball popped out, about wanting to change the possession rule..and this from a former 2B!

2. And getting just about everything wrong about moving the P in and out of position...

someone here should keep serious track.....

I agree with point #1.:eek: But not point #2. But agreeing with Joe Morgan on anything???:eek:

Kevin Finnerty Mon Jul 13, 2009 12:40pm

True story:

Joe Morgan steps out of the radio booth during a Giants game and points at a press box attendant, and says, "You ... go get me a roast beef sandwich." Then he closes the door. The press box attendant gal goes to her purse, and pulls out a ten and goes out the door to the press lunch room. She comes back, gives Morgan his sandwich, which he snatches and turns away and closes the door.

Later, after the game, the woman was seen running after Morgan in the corridor leading away from the press box, saying, "Mr. Morgan, can I please get my five dollars and fifty cents?" His response: "I'm running late; I'll give it to you tomorrow." But for Morgan, when it comes to reaching into his pocket and opening his wallet, tomorrow never comes.

RogersUmp Tue Jul 14, 2009 12:11pm

Look at his elbow
 
I think it was INT. It appeared he stretched/flexed his elbow to extend his hand when his whole upper body was starting to go down. It looked intentional to me.

Rich Ives Tue Jul 14, 2009 12:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) (Post 614240)
Sure looked like intentional interference with a thrown ball to me.

Probably pretty hard to see in "real time".

JM

If he went in standing up (legal) and the ball hit him that isn't considered interference. Stupid maybe, but not interference.

You can keep running to the base after you're out and that isn't considered interference.

It isn't considered interference if he slides into the fielder.

I'm with SDS - that's how slides are taught - on the butt, semi-sitting, hands up.

If you slide legally (and he did) why would you consider that interference.

The fielder has to expect the runner to be there.

And,as a coach I have to consider it from both the offensive and defensive perspectives.

GA Umpire Tue Jul 14, 2009 01:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 614569)
If he went in standing up (legal) and the ball hit him that isn't considered interference. Stupid maybe, but not interference.

You can keep running to the base after you're out and that isn't considered interference.

It isn't considered interference if he slides into the fielder.

I'm with SDS - that's how slides are taught - on the butt, semi-sitting, hands up.

If you slide legally (and he did) why would you consider that interference.

The fielder has to expect the runner to be there.

And,as a coach I have to consider it from both the offensive and defensive perspectives.

I agree. No INT. Everything was legal and he did not put himself in the way of the throw intentionally. F6 took it for granted b/c regular players usually get down earlier and are much shorter. He got taught a lesson to clear the base more or mix it up and cause the runners to have to think more about what they do. Just a bad play on F6.

Ump153 Tue Jul 14, 2009 01:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 614569)

And,as a coach I have to consider which call gives me the advantage.

Fixed that for you.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1