![]() |
|
|
|||
Two questions from the Cubs/Cards game
Don't remember what inning, R1 slides into second well toward the outfield side of the bag to break up DP. He slides with his left hand down and his right hand high in the air. He is looking toward F4 when he puts his right hand up and the throw to F3 goes directly into R1's upstretched hand. After the contact he slides not on the bag, but to the outfield side of the bag. he is close enough however to roll over and reach the bag with his right hand. I am not an OBR expert, so where is the line between a legal slide and obstruction?
In the 9th inning, F1 (Marshall) is moved to F7 to bring in RHP F1 to pitch to one batter. After that batter is retired, F7 is brought back in to pitch. Is he treated as a new pitcher? Does he get warm up pitches again? What if he pitched as was moved to F7 in the 8th inning, then brought back in to pitch in the 9th? Does that change anything? Also, when he is brought back in from F7 does he need to pitch to one batter before being replaced, or does his previous pitching allow him to be replaced if a pinch hitter is announced? Clear as mud? And no I am not a jock sniffer. ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Rule 3.03 Comment: A pitcher may change to another position only once during the same inning; e.g. the pitcher will not be allowed to assume a position other than a pitcher more than once in the same inning. Any player other than a pitcher substituted for an injured player shall be allowed five warm-up throws. (See Rule 8.03 for pitchers.) Yes, he must again face one batter who must reach base or be retired before being replaced (except for injury.) Oh, sure! ![]()
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 Last edited by SanDiegoSteve; Sun Jul 12, 2009 at 09:47pm. Reason: correction |
|
|||
He only gets warm-ups once per inning. So if he comes back to pitch in the same inning he gets no throws.
IN the first sit. You have a clear cut interference when he raised his hand and interfered with the throw. Even if he goes straight into the bag, you have a legal slide but still have int by him raising his hands. |
|
|||
Must be intentional on a thrown ball.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25 |
|
|||
It was intentional - he elevated the hand after starting his natural slide when he saw the fielder about to release the ball. Everyone not named Joe Morgan knew it was intentional. I was simply shocked there was no interference call. It might be the Cubbie blue in my veins, but I doubt it.
Fortunately, we no longer have to wonder about Adam Wainwright's intelligence. "Hey I've got a good idea... I'm going to use my PITCHING hand to break up a meaningless DP in a game I'm leading by three runs."* * He could have been up by one at the time; however, it still remains a stupid idea. Last edited by Brett; Sun Jul 12, 2009 at 11:05pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
PITCHER CHANGING TO A DEFENSIVE POSITION Under casebook comment to the OBR 3.03. a pitcher may change to a defensive position other than pitcher once an inning. In other words, a pitcher may change to another defensive position and then return to the mound during the same inning (unless of course he is removed from the game) If such a pitcher returns to the mound during the same inning, he is allowed the usual 8 warm-up pitches. MLBUM 7.3 Last edited by JR12; Sun Jul 12, 2009 at 10:07pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Rich Ives Different does not equate to wrong |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Cubs/Cards Interference?? | IHSAref | Baseball | 3 | Sat Apr 25, 2009 05:43am |
Plate umpire in Brewer's v . Cubs game | GBFBUmp | Baseball | 8 | Thu May 01, 2008 07:35am |
Gerry Davis in Cards game | smoump | Baseball | 12 | Wed Oct 04, 2006 03:23pm |
Cards-Astros game 4 | Toadman15241 | Baseball | 18 | Wed Oct 19, 2005 08:34am |
Chicago Cubs Fan Game 6 | johnSandlin | Baseball | 17 | Fri Oct 17, 2003 04:39pm |