The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Help me figure this out (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/53934-help-me-figure-out.html)

JR12 Sat Jul 11, 2009 12:42pm

Help me figure this out
 
The other night Orioles @ Seattle. Bases loaded.Luke Scott at bat. He singles to centerfield. F8 throws home. ball hits the back of the mound and goes into a camera well (DBT). Jones (R3) Markaikis (R2 ) scored.
Umpires held Reimhold (R1 and past second at TOT) at third and the batter(BR) Luke Scott at second. Manager Trembley got ejected by Hallion argueing that Reimhold (R1) should score and Scott(BR) get third. Where would you have placed them???
You may want to turn off the sound, unless you want to laugh. The Seattle announcers don't have a clue about what's going on. Pretty funny!


Trembley given two-game suspension | MLB.com: News

zm1283 Sat Jul 11, 2009 12:59pm

I watched the video several times and it's pretty inconclusive. It never really shows where the runner was in relation to second base when the outfielder releases the throw.

You're right though - The announcers had no clue. Big surprise.

On a related note, they had an ex-player doing the color commentary for the Cubs/Cardinals on WGN yesterday...can't remember his name. He parroted the old "Tie goes to the runner" myth after a play during the game.

Steven Tyler Sat Jul 11, 2009 02:17pm

Keith Moreland

zm1283 Sat Jul 11, 2009 02:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Steven Tyler (Post 614039)
Keith Moreland

Yes, that's it. I heard the name Keith a few times but couldn't figure out who it was.

Ump29 Sat Jul 11, 2009 02:35pm

Award should be 2 base from time of throw. From OP R1 (just past 2nd at TOT) would get home. BR would get 2 bases from TOT (not mentioned in OP) so could be from 2nd (if not at 1st at TOT) to 3rd (if past 1 at TOT).

GA Umpire Sat Jul 11, 2009 02:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ump29 (Post 614041)
Award should be 2 base from time of throw. From OP R1 (just past 2nd at TOT) would get home. BR would get 2 bases from TOT (not mentioned in OP) so could be from 2nd (if not at 1st at TOT) to 3rd (if past 1 at TOT).

The problem is that R1 was not in the picture at the TOT. He could have been 1 step short of it and then touched after the throw. Tough to tell anything about where R1 and BR.

To me, without better timing shots of R1 and BR with TOT, I can only say the umpires got it right. As zm stated, inconclusive of where to put R1 and BR.

SanDiegoSteve Sat Jul 11, 2009 03:12pm

Checking the position of the runners at the time of the throw is something that should be stressed more than it is. That facet of umpiring sometimes gets glossed over. Clinicians and instructors need to drill it into the umpires so that it's a natural habit to develop.

SAump Sun Jul 12, 2009 11:57am

Case play exception to 2base TOT
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ump29 (Post 614041)
Award should be 2 base from time of throw. From OP R1 (just past 2nd at TOT) would get home. BR would get 2 bases from TOT (not mentioned in OP) so could be from 2nd (if not at 1st at TOT) to 3rd (if past 1 at TOT).

Involves two runners between the same bases. Lets say the umpire ruled R1 had passed 2B at TOT and R2 had not passed 3B at TOT. R2 is awarded two bases {home} and R1 is awarded one base {3B}. It also makes sense that the throw home, TOT, took place before BR reached 1B and B/R is awarded 2 bases {2B}.

This may have happened, but it also leaves room for argument about what really happened during the real play which is not subject to instant replay.

dash_riprock Sun Jul 12, 2009 03:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve (Post 614045)
Checking the position of the runners at the time of the throw is something that should be stressed more than it is. That facet of umpiring sometimes gets glossed over. Clinicians and instructors need to drill it into the umpires so that it's a natural habit to develop.

Very true, and not always an easy thing to do, especially on plays with multiple throws and a lot of other stuff to look for.

bob jenkins Sun Jul 12, 2009 03:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SAump (Post 614109)
Involves two runners between the same bases. Lets say the umpire ruled R1 had passed 2B at TOT and R2 had not passed 3B at TOT. R2 is awarded home and R1 is awarded 3B.

Not true, even if the pitch was a rising fastball.

Both runners are awarded home in your example.

If both runners were between first and second, then the lead runner is awarded two bases (third) while the trailing runner only gets one base (second). Clearly not what happened in the OP.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1