![]() |
Correct Mechanics?
I was at a high school game recently and this play happened:
Man on first, two outs. Batter hits a gapper to right-center. Batter is going for three and is thrown out. Home plate umpire says run does not score before the out at third. He signals this by making the "safe" signal. Defense's manager is confused, thinking umpire counted the run. Was this the correct mechanic? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
A long time ago, at a proschool far, far away, the mechanic that was taught was to cross your forearms in front and about head heighth, and say, "the run does not score."
When the run did score, we would point at the plate and say, "score the run." But again, that was a long time ago. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
So the mechanic was wrong, but the call was correct...doesn't make any difference in the play..."coach, the run doesn't count." End of discussion.
|
Quote:
If we went by when the discussion should have ended, it would have ended after post #2, where I gave the correct mechanic. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
No thread stops after only two posts! :) |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41pm. |