The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Substitution/Re-entry/DH (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/53771-substitution-re-entry-dh.html)

johnnyg08 Fri Jun 26, 2009 08:29pm

Substitution/Re-entry/DH
 
Okay guys this question was posed to me. I want to see how others are reading this question as well as your explanation. Please read the scenario and offer your thoughts based upon the FED re-entry/DH rule.

Here is the word-for-word question that was posed to me.

Player A is DH'ing for player B in the starting lineup. During the game Player A gets on base and Player B gets put in to pinch run for Player A. Legal substitution, the DH spot is lost and Player B now is the in the batting order in that spot. Later in the game that spot comes up again, Player A using his re-entry comes into bat and player B is out of the game. Player A gets on base again. Can player B use his re-entry to come back and pinch run again since he has not used the re-entry he gets since he was a starter in the field? Of course player A would be done for the game at this point but player B would remain in the game in that lineup spot.

Thanks for your help fellas!

UmpJM Fri Jun 26, 2009 08:40pm

johnnyg,

As described, perfectly legal and correct in all respects.

JM

Steven Tyler Fri Jun 26, 2009 08:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 610992)
Okay guys this question was posed to me. I want to see how others are reading this question as well as your explanation. Please read the scenario and offer your thoughts based upon the FED re-entry/DH rule.

Here is the word-for-word question that was posed to me.

Player A is DH'ing for player B in the starting lineup. During the game Player A gets on base and Player B gets put in to pinch run for Player A. Legal substitution, the DH spot is lost and Player B now is the in the batting order in that spot. Later in the game that spot comes up again, Player A using his re-entry comes into bat and player B is out of the game. Player A gets on base again. Can player B use his re-entry to come back and pinch run again since he has not used the re-entry he gets since he was a starter in the field? Of course player A would be done for the game at this point but player B would remain in the game in that lineup spot.

Thanks for your help fellas!

When a team is batting a DH, always consider that there are (FED) 10 starters in the line up. Two of them are locked into one position in the batting order.

UmpJM Fri Jun 26, 2009 09:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Steven Tyler (Post 610994)
When a team is batting a DH, always consider that there are (FED) 10 starters in the line up. Two of them are locked into one position in the batting order.

I would just like to say that I fully concur with Steven Tyler's assertion, and, further, believe it's a "good way to think about it". Well said.

I've never done that before in my life, and just thought I'd jump on the opportunity.

JM

johnnyg08 Fri Jun 26, 2009 09:38pm

Thanks guys...I tried to maintain the thought that both starters are afforded a re-entry opportunity but wasn't sure about Player B being able to pinch run twice.

SanDiegoSteve Fri Jun 26, 2009 10:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) (Post 610995)

I've never done that before in my life, and just thought I'd jump on the opportunity.

JM

Now I know that it's one of the Four Horsemen!:eek:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1