The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   A Couple of Situations (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/53657-couple-situations.html)

KHanneman Tue Jun 16, 2009 08:07am

A Couple of Situations
 
I had a 12U game last night, mediocre baseball, and had two situations happen that I haven't seen before.

1. Ground ball hit down first base line, bouncing on foul territory until last hop which takes it over the base and landing on fair ground. I pointed fair.

2. Bases loaded, batter hits the ball which hits the plate and bounces a couple of times on the plate. In the act of fielding the ball, the catcher grabs the ball- his feet touching the plate, and the catcher steps out into the field trying to decide what play to make. It looked to me as if the catcher did not intentionally -after gaining control of the ball- touch the plate for the force, instead it looked like in the act of fielding the ball his feet happen to touch home plate when crossing it. He finally came back to touch home plate for the force.

I'm pretty sure I got #1 right, but #2 I'm second guessing. Does the catcher have to "intentionally" touch the plate. I know it's because of the age level and the kid wasn't all that aware. In upper level games this wouldn't have been a thought.
Thanks.

Robert E. Harrison Tue Jun 16, 2009 08:11am

When in doubt call him out!
 
If the fielder has the ball in control and is touching the plate, base or bag, get the out.

mbyron Tue Jun 16, 2009 08:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by KHanneman (Post 609141)
2. Bases loaded, batter hits the ball which hits the plate and bounces a couple of times on the plate. In the act of fielding the ball, the catcher grabs the ball- his feet touching the plate, and the catcher steps out into the field trying to decide what play to make. It looked to me as if the catcher did not intentionally -after gaining control of the ball- touch the plate for the force, instead it looked like in the act of fielding the ball his feet happen to touch home plate when crossing it. He finally came back to touch home plate for the force.

By rule, this is an out. Good call.

umpjayfire Tue Jun 16, 2009 08:53am

#1 you got right
#2 intention or not....he's out

Rcichon Tue Jun 16, 2009 11:21am

...
 
Read my signature line....

UmpJM Tue Jun 16, 2009 11:38am

Kevin,

1. Good call.

2. While There are no "inadvertant appeals", I'm grabbing an out on an "inadvertant force out" every time.

JM

archangel Tue Jun 16, 2009 01:51pm

Seems like some of the rule changes/clarifications in different sports has to do with removing the "intent"(I dont mean intentional) portion so officials dont have to guess.

Maybe your F2 knew he touched home, but his body language made you think otherwise. I believe this is different then the sich: runner leaving 2nd early on a caught fly ball, when the throw comes in to SS who accidentally touches 2nd....your play is an out.

DonInKansas Tue Jun 16, 2009 04:10pm

1. Bouncing over the base = fair. Well done.

2. I don't care if he trips over his own feet and cracks his face on the plate; if he keeps the ball, I've got an out.:D

KHanneman Tue Jun 16, 2009 07:59pm

Thanks guys, I guess I read to much into it. Nice to have the feedback.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1