The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Two men, same base??? (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/53620-two-men-same-base.html)

Bishopcolle Sat Jun 13, 2009 11:07pm

Two men, same base???
 
Don't remember the pro game, but a bunt to first trying to score the runner at 3rd is fielded by F3....he quickly heads to the plate and stops R1 who heads back to 3rd base, only to find R2 standing there....He does not step on the bag, but he gets very close and the BU calls him out on the tag...

Question: If R1 grabs the bag, and R2 stays on it too....who is ruled out on a double tag? Does R1 have to vacate? or R2?
What is the mechanic?

SAump Sun Jun 14, 2009 12:25am

Normal Out Mechanic
 
OBR 7.03
(a) Two runners may not occupy a base, but if, while the ball is alive, two runners are touching a base, the following runner shall be out when tagged and the preceding runner is entitled to the base, unless Rule 7.03(b) applies.
(b) If a runner is forced to advance by reason of the batter becoming a runner and two runners are touching a base to which the following runner is forced, the following runner is entitled to the base and the preceding runner shall be out when tagged or when a fielder possesses the ball and touches the base to which such preceding runner is forced.

dash_riprock Sun Jun 14, 2009 06:25am

On a double tag, I believe the proper mechanic is to first point at the following runner and say "You're out" and then point at the lead runner and say "You're safe."

bob jenkins Sun Jun 14, 2009 06:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bishopcolle (Post 608735)
Don't remember the pro game, but a bunt to first trying to score the runner at 3rd is fielded by F3....he quickly heads to the plate and stops R1 who heads back to 3rd base, only to find R2 standing there....He does not step on the bag, but he gets very close and the BU calls him out on the tag...

Question: If R1 grabs the bag, and R2 stays on it too....who is ruled out on a double tag? Does R1 have to vacate? or R2?
What is the mechanic?

Your question is a little confusing because normally, it would be R3 who is on third. And, when you say "He does not step on the bag" are you referring to R1/R3 or R2? You also don't specify if there was a runner at first to start the play.

In any event -- if there's a force, then the base belongs to the trail runner -- R2 in this instance. R3 is out.

If there's no force, then the base belongs to the lead runner -- R3 in this instance. R2 is out.

Bishopcolle Sun Jun 14, 2009 08:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 608760)
Your question is a little confusing because normally, it would be R3 who is on third. And, when you say "He does not step on the bag" are you referring to R1/R3 or R2? You also don't specify if there was a runner at first to start the play.

In any event -- if there's a force, then the base belongs to the trail runner -- R2 in this instance. R3 is out.

If there's no force, then the base belongs to the lead runner -- R3 in this instance. R2 is out.

Thanks to all three for the responses....I saw this in a game as mentioned (R3 called out for not being on the bag--he was not forced to vacate). I had a major discussion with two Senior Varsity officials who at first were adamant that BOTH were safe....Whoa!!! I quickly got them to see that at least one had to be out, I just wasn't sure which one, and I am away from the rule books on travel, so I couldn't research it....Thanks for the GREAT clarifications!!!!!!

umpjong Sun Jun 14, 2009 09:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by dash_riprock (Post 608757)
On a double tag, I believe the proper mechanic is to first point at the following runner and say "You're out" and then point at the lead runner and say "You're safe."

Doesnt hurt to state the players number as you are pointing either. Point, and state #24 you are out.

kylejt Sun Jun 14, 2009 10:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by umpjong (Post 608784)
Doesnt hurt to state the players number as you are pointing either. Point, and state #24 you are out.

"YOU! Hey kid, could you turn around please? Number twenty four, you're out!

bossman72 Sun Jun 14, 2009 02:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by umpjong (Post 608784)
Doesnt hurt to state the players number as you are pointing either. Point, and state #24 you are out.

Yes, the proper mechanic is to specify clearly who is out and who is safe.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1