The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 05, 2009, 10:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveshane67 View Post
not to hijack the thread, but I was under the impression that you would only award a base if the runner actually proceeded to run to said base and the obstruction resulted in the runner being put out. Meaning if the runner makes no further attempt to advance after the contact with the fielder, then it would be awfully hard for an umpire to judge that the obstruction caused the runner not to reach the next base (obviously extreme cases like a fielder tackling a runner exist).
This criterion is not part of the rule or its usual interpretation. The rule uses language like "hinders the runner in his attempt to run the bases," and running the bases does not always mean advancing to the next base.

For example: R2, batter singles. R2 is obstructed by F5 rounding third, falls down, and returns to 3B. This is textbook OBS, and the runner must be awarded home.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Obstruction? tarheelcoach Baseball 68 Sat Mar 24, 2007 08:35pm
OBSTRUCTION going into 2nd??? PFISTO Baseball 11 Sun Dec 31, 2006 09:00pm
obstruction:asa/fed Little Jimmy Softball 10 Sat Feb 14, 2004 04:13pm
Obstruction at First Cubbies87 Baseball 9 Sun Sep 28, 2003 07:53pm
Obstruction or nothing? heyblue Softball 6 Thu Mar 13, 2003 06:04pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1