The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Abandoning the Base: FED (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/53502-abandoning-base-fed.html)

Spence Thu Jun 04, 2009 05:50pm

Abandoning the Base: FED
 
R1 R2 1 out

Groundball to F6. R1 beats the throw to 2nd. F4 continues and throws to F3 for the forceout.

R2 assumes that R1 was out and 2nd base . After touching 3rd he starts to leave the field heading towards the 3rd base dugout.

At what point is he considered to have abandoned the base and is no longer able to either go back to third or proceed to home plate?

Does he have to be in the dugout/DBT?

Spence Thu Jun 04, 2009 06:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 606720)
Technically, by rule, yes. To advance to 3B, I think it's have to reestablish his direct path to the base from 2B. Let the play happened. The defense will more than likely make a play on him...when they do and they tag him, then call him out. There are case plays that describe plays similar to this.

To be clear, he did advance to and touch 3rd base BEFORE heading towards the dugout.

bob jenkins Fri Jun 05, 2009 08:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 606719)
R1 R2 1 out

Groundball to F6. R1 beats the throw to 2nd. F4 continues and throws to F3 for the forceout.

R2 assumes that R1 was out and 2nd base . After touching 3rd he starts to leave the field heading towards the 3rd base dugout.

At what point is he considered to have abandoned the base and is no longer able to either go back to third or proceed to home plate?

Does he have to be in the dugout/DBT?

Technically, by rule, NO -- he does not need to be in the dugout or DBT.

The rule (8-4-2p) and case (8.4.2D) say "leaves the baseline", but the NOTE says "believing there is no play" and "umpire judges", so there's plenty of leeway.

jdmara Fri Jun 05, 2009 08:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 606796)
Technically, by rule, NO -- he does not need to be in the dugout or DBT.

The rule (8-4-2p) and case (8.4.2D) say "leaves the baseline", but the NOTE says "believing there is no play" and "umpire judges", so there's plenty of leeway.

I hate that case play because the runner establishes the baseline by his path, not the distance between two bases. It's absolutely a judgment call by the umpire.

-Josh


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1