The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 08, 2002, 12:13pm
Gee Gee is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 305
This play could be very easily confused with the "Intervening Play" rule.

R3 LESS than two outs.

Dropped third strike, F2 retrieves the ball and lunges to get R3 at the plate. R3 beats the tag and is called safe. F2 then throws to first to get the B/R, the throw hits the B/R who was out of the running lane and is called out for interference. Does the R3 score or is he sent back to third due to the interference?

Ruling, Score the run. It was an intervening play not connected to the interference play.

However if there were two outs, as in your play, I don't THINK the run would score for the same reason given above. G.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1