The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   balk or not? (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/53464-balk-not.html)

newump Mon Jun 01, 2009 11:48pm

balk or not?
 
R1. F3 is not holding on the runner, he is playing well behind R1. F1 steps off of the rubber and then throws over to F3. F3 is well behind R1 and is not moving towards the 1st base bag when he catches the throw from F1.

I say no balk as F1 has disengaged is no longer treated as a pitcher, but as an infielder.

same for all codes??

any rule citation or interp would be appreciated. thanks

DG Mon Jun 01, 2009 11:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by newump (Post 606125)
R1. F3 is not holding on the runner, he is playing well behind R1. F1 steps off of the rubber and then throws over to F3. F3 is well behind R1 and is not moving towards the 1st base bag when he catches the throw from F1.

I say no balk as F1 has disengaged is no longer treated as a pitcher, but as an infielder.

same for all codes??

any rule citation or interp would be appreciated. thanks

I am not familiar with any case in any code where a pitcher is called for a balk after stepping off legally.

Welpe Tue Jun 02, 2009 12:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DG (Post 606131)
I am not familiar with any case in any code where a pitcher is called for a balk after stepping off legally.

Simulating the start of a pitch would be one (perhaps the only?).

DG Tue Jun 02, 2009 12:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 606138)
Simulating the start of a pitch would be one (perhaps the only?).

I said stepping off legally.

bob jenkins Tue Jun 02, 2009 08:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by newump (Post 606125)
R1. F3 is not holding on the runner, he is playing well behind R1. F1 steps off of the rubber and then throws over to F3. F3 is well behind R1 and is not moving towards the 1st base bag when he catches the throw from F1.

I say no balk as F1 has disengaged is no longer treated as a pitcher, but as an infielder.

same for all codes??

any rule citation or interp would be appreciated. thanks

Not a balk the first time, but it could be interpreted as "delaying the game" -- OBR 8.02(c); FED 6-2-2a. If you do give the warning, and F1 does it again, it is a balk plus an ejection under OBR-- 8.05(h). I dont' think this is covered under FED, but I'd probably apply the same logic to call a ball under 6-2-2c

That would be a pretty unusual call, unless there's something else going on in the game.

bob jenkins Tue Jun 02, 2009 08:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DG (Post 606141)
I said stepping off legally.

Even if F1 steps off legally, he could still be guilty of balks under 8.05(e) and (g).

I agree they aren't relevant to the OP.

SanDiegoSteve Tue Jun 02, 2009 09:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DG (Post 606141)
I said stepping off legally.

A pitcher, after stepping off legally, could then pretend he is on the rubber and start his motion to decieve the runner. That's what he meant.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1