![]() |
Live Ball Touched By R2 Standing on Base
Saw this the other night. Competitive Youth League, OBR, U14 age group. Ball Thrown back to F1 by F2, tips his glove and tolls towards 2nd base. R2, while standing on the base, reaches down and picks up the ball and throws it back to F1. Defensive coach starts out of the dugout and asks the PU, what's the call? PU, says "No call...Let's play." And they played on. Tried to research this in Rules and could not find anything related to the offense being penalized for this. If there is a violation, at least a warning should have been given. Then I started to think, what if there was R3 who broke for the plate after the ball tipped F1's glove? Any assistance is appreciated. Thanks!
|
:D If a play is going on then rule interference. Otherwise use common sense.
|
I like how PU handled this. "No call...Let's play."
|
U14 playing OBR? I doubt it.
|
Quote:
AAU uses FED. All other youth organizations use OBR based rules. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
i got nuttin' honey
|
Quote:
Quote:
Back to the OP, another "don't do that" type of thing. No call is the right call. You can tell the runner to let the defense worry about fielding the ball. I don't understand why the defensive coach would have a problem with it, because it potentially saved a smarter runner from advancing. |
I was wondering the same thing...but didn't go there.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41am. |