The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Int or not? (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/53175-int-not.html)

bigda65 Tue May 12, 2009 11:08am

Int or not?
 
Posted this on another board, but curious what some of you all thought.

Bases loaded, 2 out. Ball hit to F5, R2 takes a couple of strides, stops directly in front of F5, turns facing ball coming at him, then turns at the last second to avoid ball and continues to run to 3B.

There is no question in anyones mind (except the umpires in this game) that he is trying to cause SS to miss this ball.

SS fields ball cleanly and throws to 1B, where BR barely beats the throw.
INT was not called.

Now to my questions:

Would you call INT after the play had ended?
If you would, how would you respond to the OM when he asked why INT was called?

johnnyg08 Tue May 12, 2009 11:13am

If the runner tried to distract (it appeared as though he altered his path to distract F6)the fielder from being able to field the ball, I'm calling INT here...but, I didn't see the play...so that's what I would've done based upon what you're describing.

Kevin Finnerty Tue May 12, 2009 11:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 601461)
If the runner tried to distract (it appeared as though he altered his path to distract F6)the fielder from being able to field the ball, I'm calling INT here...but, I didn't see the play...so that's what I would've done based upon what you're describing.

My partner called this in a recent game. I loved it. The runner literally stopped and let the ball go through his legs and then continued to third. The batter/runner was barely safe, so he called it.

It's a ballsy call.

bigda65 Tue May 12, 2009 11:27am

Kevin,

Did the OM question his call? What did he ask and what was your partners reply?

UmpJM Tue May 12, 2009 11:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigda65 (Post 601459)
...
Now to my questions:

Would you call INT after the play had ended?
If you would, how would you respond to the OM when he asked why INT was called?

bigda65,

No, I would call it as soon as I judged it was interference. (As I'm picturing your description, that would be before the ball reached the fielder.)

My response to the OC would be "In my judgement, your runner intentionally hindered the fielder's attempt to field the batted ball."

If you're going to call interference, you call it when you see it. You don't wait to see the outcome of the play.

JM

bigda65 Tue May 12, 2009 11:32am

JM,

I would have called it immediately if not sooner ;)

After your "in my judgement....."

But blue he fielded it cleanly and then threw to first how was he hindered??

UmpJM Tue May 12, 2009 11:34am

Coach, the fielder's ability to complete the play despite your runner's hindrance does not excuse his interference.

Let's play baseball.

JM

Durham Tue May 12, 2009 11:36am

These types of plays are HTBT and are based on judgement.

johnnyg08 Tue May 12, 2009 11:43am

Would a play like this ever result in us calling out the runner closest to home? Assume we're calling INT on a play. New thread?

johnnyg08 Tue May 12, 2009 11:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) (Post 601471)
Coach, the fielder's ability to complete the play despite your runner's hindrance does not excuse his interference

Not on runner's lane INT though right?

Or are you saying, call it, if they make the play they're intending to make, then we nullify the INT? (minus anything malicious)

bob jenkins Tue May 12, 2009 11:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 601473)
Would a play like this ever result in us calling out the runner closest to home? Assume we're calling INT on a play. New thread?


Calling out ONLY the runner nearest home? Never -- the runner who interferes is out.

If it was the BR and IF you were going to get two outs on the play (for "willfull and deliberate attempt to prevent a DP"), then you also get the runner closest to home.

johnnyg08 Tue May 12, 2009 11:51am

Thanks Bob.

UmpJM Tue May 12, 2009 11:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 601474)
Not on runner's lane INT though right?

Or are you saying, call it, if they make the play they're intending to make, then we nullify the INT? (minus anything malicious)

johnny,

Not sure what you're getting at here. I don't think I would treat a runner's lane interference call any differently in this regard, and were I to call it and the defense were able to complete the play (not likely, but possible, I guess) I would certainly NOT "nullify" the interference.

The only sitch I can think of where that would be proper is on a BI (or UI, I guess) with the catcher's throw to retire a runner. If the initial play is successful, the interference is "disregarded".

Anything else, I'm sticking with the interference - which means there's an out AND any remaining runners return.

JM

johnnyg08 Tue May 12, 2009 11:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 601476)
Calling out ONLY the runner nearest home? Never -- the runner who interferes is out.

If it was the BR and IF you were going to get two outs on the play (for "willfull and deliberate attempt to prevent a DP"), then you also get the runner closest to home.

Not disagreeing, but can you or somebody else list a case play so I can read about it?

johnnyg08 Tue May 12, 2009 11:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) (Post 601479)
johnny,

Not sure what you're getting at here. I don't think I would treat a runner's lane interference call any differently in this regard, and were I to call it and the defense were able to complete the play (not likely, but possible, I guess) I would certainly NOT "nullify" the interference.

The only sitch I can think of where that would be proper is on a BI (or UI, I guess) with the catcher's throw to retire a runner. If the initial play is successful, the interference is "disregarded".

Anything else, I'm sticking with the interference - which means there's an out AND any remaining runners return.

JM

I guess I was referring to a play where F2 would throw to F3 and we have runner lane INT...if F3 successfully fields the ball and we have B/R out at 1B...there was INT, but he made the play...so you call the INT and return runners on that type of play?

Kevin Finnerty Tue May 12, 2009 12:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigda65 (Post 601465)
Kevin,

Did the OM question his call? What did he ask and what was your partners reply?

He questioned it for a few minutes, and then the defensive coach wanted an automatic double play.

The OM asked why it was interference if he didn't even touch the ball or the fielder. My partner answered that he denied the fielder an opportunity to see the ball sooner and make the play. He called it, but the shortstop continued and made the play. He took good command of the call and the description. Good command for a kid, that is. ;)

The defensive coach wound up being more of a pain in the a$$ about the automatic double play (no chance in hell of two on this play).

bob jenkins Tue May 12, 2009 01:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 601482)
I guess I was referring to a play where F2 would throw to F3 and we have runner lane INT...if F3 successfully fields the ball and we have B/R out at 1B...there was INT, but he made the play...so you call the INT and return runners on that type of play?

Please describe a specific play where that happens -- I'm having trouble envisioning the BR hindering F3, but F3 "successfully fields the ball" (by which I assume you mean catches the throw).

johnnyg08 Tue May 12, 2009 01:11pm

Yes. Doesn't the provision for runner's lane interference deal with F3's ability to field the throw?

Example: Bunt down 1BL, F2 fields, throws, B/R is inside the runner's lane about 20 ft from 1B, F2 successfully threads the needle by throwing the ball over B/R's left shoulder and F3 catches the ball for a 2-3 putout.

If the ball goes off of B/R's helmet and out into RF...you have running lane INT right?

So...I'm asking the other poster if he would call it before he saw the result of the attempted play?

DonInKansas Tue May 12, 2009 03:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigda65 (Post 601469)

But blue he fielded it cleanly and then threw to first how was he hindered??

If the fielder had to pull up instead of charging a ground ball (which any coach with 1/3 of a brain should be teaching his kids to do) to avoid a runner intentionally hovering in front of a grounder, it doesn't matter how cleanly the ball was fielded.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1