The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Basic Question #1: (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/53118-basic-question-1-a.html)

Tim C Thu May 07, 2009 08:06pm

Basic Question #1:
 
NFHS

R2 and R3 1 Out

Fly ball to F8 which is caught.

R3 tags and scores

R2 does not retouch

After R3 has scored a successful appeal is made on R2 leaving.

Does the run count?

UmpJM Thu May 07, 2009 08:10pm

Tim,

Yes.

JM

Aging_Arbiter Thu May 07, 2009 08:18pm

Appeal plays are still timing plays. At the TIME the appeal was made, the run had scored.

Ump153 Thu May 07, 2009 08:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tim C (Post 600469)
NFHS

R2 and R3 1 Out

Fly ball to F8 which is caught.

R3 tags and scores

R2 does not retouch

After R3 has scored a successful appeal is made on R2 leaving.

Does the run count?


Too easy. What are you up to?

johnnyg08 Thu May 07, 2009 08:24pm

count that run Tim. I agree w/ ump153...where you going w/ this one?

waltjp Thu May 07, 2009 09:38pm

I'm guessing Tim was observing/watching a game and is blowing off some steam.

SethPDX Thu May 07, 2009 10:01pm

Was there a balk before the play? :)

I have a feeling there will be more to come...

DG Thu May 07, 2009 10:15pm

Hmm.. Trick question. According to NFHS if there is more than one runner the farthest advanced is R1, the next farthest R2, and then R3. So you can't have R2 and R3 because there is no R1.

Only explanation I can come up with for why this seemingly simple question is posed.

Welpe Fri May 08, 2009 12:48am

I've seen Tim denounce the Fed (and softball) runner numbering convention, so I don't think that's it.

With apologies to the late, great Paul Harvey, I think we need "the rest of the story". :D

tornado Fri May 08, 2009 07:18am

After R3 has scored a successful appeal is made on R2 leaving.

leaving too early?
leaving the field?
leaving us wondering?

Steven Tyler Fri May 08, 2009 07:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SethPDX (Post 600498)
Was there a balk before the play? :)

I have a feeling there will be more to come...

It wouldn't matter if there was a balk, since the ball would have been dead and the play never happened.

FED rules remember......;)

ozzy6900 Fri May 08, 2009 07:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tim C (Post 600469)
NFHS

R2 and R3 1 Out

Fly ball to F8 which is caught.

R3 tags and scores

R2 does not retouch

After R3 has scored a successful appeal is made on R2 leaving.

Does the run count?

Day or Night game, Tim? :D

You guys better brush up because play #2 is going to be a doosie!

shickenbottom Fri May 08, 2009 08:11am

Assuming Tim's numbering convention is what we normally accept (Non-Fed).

Did R2 Pass R3 at any point prior to R3 crossing home plate?

If so, R2 is out for passing a preceeding runner making this the 2nd or 3rd out depending upon the timing of when he passed this runner and when the Fly ball to F8 was caught, and no run can score. The appeal for R2 leaving early would be meaningless in this case.

johnnyg08 Fri May 08, 2009 08:13am

if all of those things are present, that isn't a basic question...hopefully Tim replies and lets us know what he's up to

mbyron Fri May 08, 2009 08:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Aging_Arbiter (Post 600474)
Appeal plays are still timing plays. At the TIME the appeal was made, the run had scored.

Not necessarily. Be sure to distinguish retouch appeals from missed-base appeals. Retouch appeals are timing plays. Missed-base appeals are timing plays only when the runner was not forced to a base he missed.

Right answer, right but possibly misleading reason. Grade: A– ;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1