The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Is this a balk? (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/52996-balk.html)

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Apr 28, 2009 05:42pm

Is this a balk?
 
NFHS Rules please (but I would also like NCAA and MLB/OBR rulings too).

F1 is a left-handed pitcher. R1 on first. F1, pitching from the stretch, goes to the set position. F1 lifts his not pivot first and starts to move it toward home plate; the non-pivot foot moves about twleve (12) inches toward home plate and then F1, without stopping his motion, steps with his pivot foot toward first base and throws to first base; if one where to draw the proverbial imaginary 45 degree line from the pitcher's plate, F1's non-pivot foot definitely lands on the first base side of the 45 degree line.

This happened in a H.S. game that was televised in the Toledo area and a balk was called by both the PU and the BU. I believe the call was correct because he started toward the plate with his non-pivot foot, but MTD, Jr. (young ones, they think they know it all, :D; that is why I make him work the plate all of the time we umpire together, afterall he is only 19) believes it was not a balk because the non-pivot foot landed on the first base side of the 45 degree line.

Is this a balk?

I will hang up now and listen to your answers off the air. Thank you and good night. Let the fun begin.

MTD, Sr.

zm1283 Tue Apr 28, 2009 06:05pm

So before his non-pivot foot landed, he disengaged his pivot foot and threw with both feet off the ground? Sorry, just seems very confusing.

Sounds like a balk to me.

ozzy6900 Tue Apr 28, 2009 06:40pm

If you (the umpire) have F1 moving to the plate then to a base, that's a balk. Remember, it's your opinion that counts, not F1's or his coach.

tjones1 Tue Apr 28, 2009 06:45pm

If you have the pitcher coming to the plate and he goes to first it doesn't matter where his foot lands - it's a balk.

jdmara Tue Apr 28, 2009 06:49pm

balk!

-Josh

mbyron Tue Apr 28, 2009 08:14pm

Balk. By moving toward home before stepping and throwing to first, F1 fails to step directly toward the base.

Quote:

Originally Posted by rule 6-2-4
ART. 4 . . . Balk. If there is a runner or runners, any of the following acts by a
pitcher while he is touching the pitcher’s plate is a balk:
...
b. failing to step with the non-pivot foot directly toward a base (occupied or
unoccupied) when throwing or feinting there in an attempt to put out, or
drive back a runner; or throwing or feinting to any unoccupied base when
it is not an attempt to put out or drive back a runner;


johnnyg08 Tue Apr 28, 2009 08:34pm

distance and direction...distance and direction...moves home...gotta go home...

UmpJM Tue Apr 28, 2009 08:47pm

johnny,

The whole point of Mark's question and the (correct) responses given by ozzy, tjones, and mbyron is that "distance and direction" is not the whole story.

The pitcher in Mark's sitch DID gain "distance and direction" towards 1B, yet it was STILL a balk when he threw there.

Because he failed to make a "direct step" to 1B before throwing there per 8.05(c).

JM

johnnyg08 Tue Apr 28, 2009 09:16pm

okay, thanks for clarifying...as you read I did not include "direct step" in my post.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1