The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   First Time for Me (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/52961-first-time-me.html)

ManInBlue Sun Apr 26, 2009 01:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dash_riprock (Post 597883)
MIB: Here's what you said: "I look at it this way - Did the batter have time to react and get out of the way? If not (as in your sitch), we have nothing."

With respect to the OP (which is what you were referring to), that reasoning is flawed.

How? He didn't have time to react to anything - and the call is still correct - nothing. I didn't say it was perfect, it's how I look at it.

Quote:

Originally Posted by MrUmpire (Post 597884)
Most of us were discussing the OP.

I was simply stating there are other situations that occur. There are people that take "he doesn't have to move" to every sitch - it's not true in every sitch.

I, too, commented on the OP - and took it a step farther and into "every" situatioin. Why is that so confusing?

GA Umpire Sun Apr 26, 2009 07:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jay R (Post 597831)

2. If they did call the interference, should it not be R1 who is out instead of the BR. In OBR, the BR is only out if there are two outs. Correct? Is FED different?

For OBR, batter is out for all bases regardless of outs except for a play at HP. A play at any other base is as follows.

If runner is retired on catcher's initial throw, no INT. Out stands.

If runner is not retired on catcher's initial throw, batter is out and all runners return to base at TOP.

If play at HP and less than 2 outs, runner is out. If 2 outs, batter is out.

dash_riprock Sun Apr 26, 2009 08:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ManInBlue (Post 597890)
How? He didn't have time to react to anything - and the call is still correct - nothing. I didn't say it was perfect, it's how I look at it.

Nothing is the correct (non) call, but not because the batter didn't have time to react. It's because he didn't interfere with the catcher's fielding or throwing by stepping out of the batter’s box or by making make any other movement that hinders the catcher’s play at home base. In other words, it's not INT because he just stood there in the box. See 6.06(c)

Jay R Sun Apr 26, 2009 09:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by GA Umpire (Post 597914)
For OBR, batter is out for all bases regardless of outs except for a play at HP. A play at any other base is as follows.

If runner is retired on catcher's initial throw, no INT. Out stands.

If runner is not retired on catcher's initial throw, batter is out and all runners return to base at TOP.

If play at HP and less than 2 outs, runner is out. If 2 outs, batter is out.

Thanks,

I got mixed up between the OP and the play at the plate.

ManInBlue Sun Apr 26, 2009 09:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dash_riprock (Post 597932)
Nothing is the correct (non) call, but not because the batter didn't have time to react. It's because he didn't interfere with the catcher's fielding or throwing by stepping out of the batter’s box or by making make any other movement that hinders the catcher’s play at home base. In other words, it's not INT because he just stood there in the box. See 6.06(c)

True - and I don't recall debating that point. Never said it wasn't INT because he didn't have time to react. If you inferred that, I apologize.

I do recall adding my perspective on how to possibly judge INT or not. Also recall stating it might not be the best method, but it works for me on the hard to decifer situations. It's overly simlplified I admit.

dash_riprock Sun Apr 26, 2009 10:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ManInBlue (Post 597964)
True - and I don't recall debating that point. Never said it wasn't INT because he didn't have time to react. If you inferred that, I apologize.

I inferred it from your post #11
Quote:

Originally Posted by ManInBlue (Post 597964)
Did the batter have time to react and get out of the way? If not (as in your sitch), we have nothing.

and your post #16
Quote:

Originally Posted by ManInBlue (Post 597964)
He didn't have time to react to anything - and the call is still correct - nothing.


SanDiegoSteve Mon Apr 27, 2009 12:31am

Darien:

Just get under that bus again!!!

:D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1