The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Jump turn to 1B/Throw to unoccupied base (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/52944-jump-turn-1b-throw-unoccupied-base.html)

johnnyg08 Thu Apr 23, 2009 10:38pm

Jump turn to 1B/Throw to unoccupied base
 
Okay guys...I read FED Rule 6 which state a few points about what is/isn't a balk blah, blah, blah...

Can somebody please post a case play/rule for FED that discusses the call for the following situation...

Pitcher in a legal set position. R1 breaks early for 2B...in one motion, pitcher jump turns and throws to 2B. R1 gets in rundown and is tagged out.

If we have a balk here, obviously the rundown does not occur since the balk stops everything. I'm looking for other thought on this call though

How do you rule? Balk? If so, why? If not, why?

Thanks

DG Thu Apr 23, 2009 11:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 597538)
Okay guys...I read FED Rule 6 which state a few points about what is/isn't a balk blah, blah, blah...

Can somebody please post a case play/rule for FED that discusses the call for the following situation...

Pitcher in a legal set position. R1 breaks early for 2B...in one motion, pitcher jump turns and throws to 2B. R1 gets in rundown and is tagged out.

If we have a balk here, obviously the rundown does not occur since the balk stops everything. I'm looking for other thought on this call though

How do you rule? Balk? If so, why? If not, why?

Thanks

Pitcher can jump turn to 2B to make a play on advancing runner. No balk.

6.1.3 Sit F is close as I can come to case play.;

zm1283 Fri Apr 24, 2009 12:53am

He can throw to a base that a runner is occupying or to a base that a runner is advancing to. No balk.

UmpJM Fri Apr 24, 2009 01:28am

Heck, under FED rules he can throw to a base the runner is feinting an advance to.

JohnnyG,

It is not a balk because the rules state it is permissible for the pitcher to do so.

What's the confusion?

JM

johnnyg08 Fri Apr 24, 2009 08:03am

What's the throwing to an unoccupied base rule for FED...is it that he couldn't have thrown to 2B from the windup...or am I totally missing this one? I've read about this rule before, but I actually saw it for the first time last night.

JR12 Fri Apr 24, 2009 08:34am

In FED, you can't make a pick off from the windup. He would first have to disengage.

TwoBits Fri Apr 24, 2009 08:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM) (Post 597560)
Heck, under FED rules he can throw to a base the runner is feinting an advance to.

JohnnyG,

It is not a balk because the rules state it is permissible for the pitcher to do so.

What's the confusion?

JM

I'm guessing the confusion comes from the old wive's (coach's) tale, "The pitcher can't throw to an unoccupied base." :)

johnnyg08 Fri Apr 24, 2009 09:43am

What if he doesn't throw the ball...then do we have a balk?

Sitch: R1 early breaks for 2B, RH Pitcher jump turns to 1B but doesn't throw to 1B, but then simply throws the ball to 2B

Thanks for clearing this up fellas...Locally I'm getting told balk, on here you're all saying legal. Have I seen the light? Thanks for your help.

dash_riprock Fri Apr 24, 2009 10:08am

Balk. If he "jump turns" to 1st, he must throw there.

johnnyg08 Fri Apr 24, 2009 10:45am

okay, dash, so you're the 1st person on here who's saying balk...are you saying balk to the fact that he has to throw there or the fact that he simply has to throw to the base where the play is being made?

bob jenkins Fri Apr 24, 2009 11:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 597623)
okay, dash, so you're the 1st person on here who's saying balk...are you saying balk to the fact that he has to throw there or the fact that he simply has to throw to the base where the play is being made?


He said "balk" because you changed the play.

In the OP, there's a "in one motion, pitcher jump turns and throws to 2B."

In the revised play, there's a, "jump turns to 1B but doesn't throw to 1B, but then simply throws the ball to 2B."

The OP is legal. The revised play is a balk. See the difference?

johnnyg08 Fri Apr 24, 2009 11:12am

okay, yes I see the difference. thank you.

JPaco54 Fri Apr 24, 2009 02:16pm

I thought you had to step to a base to throw and that a jump turn is illegal. :confused:

bob jenkins Fri Apr 24, 2009 10:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JPaco54 (Post 597674)
I thought you had to step to a base to throw

correct

Quote:

and that a jump turn is illegal. :confused:
incorrect

mbyron Sat Apr 25, 2009 05:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JPaco54 (Post 597674)
I thought you had to step to a base to throw and that a jump turn is illegal. :confused:

As Bob points out, a jump turn IS a step to a base, since the front foot gains "distance and direction" toward the base.

If we're talking about first base, provided that the jump turn is followed by a throw to the base, the move is legal.

UMP25 Tue Apr 28, 2009 10:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 597747)
As Bob points out, a jump turn IS a step to a base, since the front foot gains "distance and direction" toward the base.

Not necessarily, because a pitcher doesn't always "gain ground." He must do so for it to be legal. If he does not gain ground, it's a balk. I had this occur last week in a D3 NCAA game. The pitcher did his jump turn, but his nonpivot foot (left foot, since he was a righty) just spun in its place as he turned toward first.

The NCAA has emphasized that its umpires watch this, as I guess they believe too many pitchers are, in fact, spinning and not really jumping and turning and gaining ground.

johnnyg08 Tue Apr 28, 2009 11:49am

This is from the FED 2009 Rules by Topic book:

If there is a runner or runners, any of the following acts by a pitcher while he is touching the pitcher's plate is a balk (6-2-4)

Failing to step with the non-pivot foot directly toward a base (occupied or unoccupied) when throwing or feinting there in an attempt to put out, or drive back a runner; or throwing or feinting to any unoccupied base when it is not an attempt to put out or drive back a runner.

bob jenkins Tue Apr 28, 2009 12:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 598341)
This is from the FED 2009 Rules by Topic book:

If there is a runner or runners, any of the following acts by a pitcher while he is touching the pitcher's plate is a balk (6-2-4)

Failing to step with the non-pivot foot directly toward a base (occupied or unoccupied) when throwing or feinting there in an attempt to put out, or drive back a runner; or throwing or feinting to any unoccupied base when it is not an attempt to put out or drive back a runner.

That's what makes your OP legal. F1 stepped (as part of the jump turn) to second when throwing there to put out or drive back a runner.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1