![]() |
Dropped 3rd strike question
This came up in a meeting last week. FED.
R2, 2 outs 2 strikes. R2 breaks for third. Pitch is in the dirt and swung at and missed by Batter. Batter takes off for first and catcher throws to third to retire R2 for the third out. Who leads off the next inning? I say the batter never completed his at bat by being put out. Everyone else says I'm wrong. Any rule reference would be helpful. I'm using 7-1-2 to make my point. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
As often is the case, this question can be cleared up by a simple playing term or definition. See Rule 2.0, "Time at Bat". The definition is as Matt posted above.
Many different instructors have pounded into my head the importance of the definitions near the front of the book. The definitions are the foundation upon which all of the other rules are built. |
Thanks for clearing it up for me. I couldn't find it in rule 6. should have went to 2.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36am. |