![]() |
Thrown Glove at Ball
This actually happened in a ML game. Line drive off of pitchers leg, SS throws glove and hits rolling ball. I would think that this qualifies as a batted ball rather than a thrown ball and three bases would be awarded.
|
OBR 7.05.c "Three bases, if a fielder deliberately throws his glove at and touches a fair ball. The ball is in play and the batter may advance to home base at his peril.
(e) Two bases, if a fielder deliberately throws his glove at and touches a thrown ball. The ball is in play." As per the rules above , it either quailifies as a fair ball or a thrown ball. What was the ruling in the game you watched? |
The batter got to 3B and was credited with a triple, but I believe he had already reached 1B when the glove struck the ball.
|
3 bases time of pitch on batted ball...2 bases time of touch on thrown ball.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07pm. |