![]() |
Batter swings and ball hits home plate, bounces 10 feet straight up. Can the cather play the baseball? When is it fair or foul ball?
|
If the ball's still over the plate, it's fair. The plate is part of fair territory.
Kyle |
http://www.eteamz.com/baseball/rules/obr/myths/
Refer to #4 and click on the number for an explanation. |
Yup, and if it hits the batter, he's out.
|
Quote:
Bob [Edited by bluezebra on Jun 3rd, 2002 at 04:32 PM] |
I assumed that if the ball was over the plate when it hit the batter then the batter had to be over the plate (i.e. out of the box) also.
|
So if the catcher snatches the ball when standing in foul territory it is still fair? It is where the ball is not the player?
|
You are correct, sir.
I had that in a game earlier this season. Bounding ball toward third. 3B gloves it, but the ball is just to the left of the line. "FOUL". The manager, likes he's got a good angle, yells at me "but both his feet were inbounds". So I corrected my call, with both hands straight up, "my mistake coach, that's a touchdown". Hey, it got a good laugh. Kyle |
That's a good one Kyle. I'll have to remember to use that one next time.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:21am. |