The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Sat May 25, 2002, 09:01am
Official Forum Member

I'm not an umpire, but recently the local Little League has been looking for umpires and I considered signing up. My only concern is my vision.

My right eye is essentially useless, so my depth perception isn't good. Over the years I've learned to compensate - I can drive a car without problems and I've learned to hit a pitched ball, but do you think I'm opening myself up for too many headaches by officiating? Or are there vision requirements that would override this anyway?
Old Sat May 25, 2002, 10:20am
Official Forum Member

Wink

Try it. What have you got to lose... I mean it's a LL game, not the World Series, right?

Work a few games in the field first. Then try the plate.

For what it is worth. (And I am no expert). BUT in my Assoc, we have a member, 6 year veteran, who works games up to HS Varsity, 18 year old select, etc. He does a good job, and he has vision in only one eye.

So it is possible. As you said, your brain has compensated.
Old Sat May 25, 2002, 02:16pm
Official Forum Member

Wink

Not meaning to be cruel; but, at least when someone yells out to YOU: "What!!! Are you blind blue???" You can tell them: "in a manner of speaking yes!"
So, you're a leg up on the rest of us, GO FOR IT!!!!! You may even find out that because you have learned to compensate that you may be better than you think; and, better than a lot of us.....
Old Sat May 25, 2002, 04:50pm
Official Forum Member

Many years ago there was an MLB ump named George Moriarty who told this story on himself.