The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   What's the ruling? (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/49582-whats-ruling.html)

SanDiegoSteve Wed Oct 29, 2008 11:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ozzy6900 (Post 546843)
"Ya lollygagg onto the field, Ya lollygagg off the field. So, do you know what that makes you?"

"Lollygaggers!"

thanks to the movie Bull Durham for that remark

Better to be a lollygagger than a scamperer. If you scamper, the Langoliers will get you and eat you alive.

We have Stephen King to thank for that imagery.

PeteBooth Wed Oct 29, 2008 11:48am

Quote:

Quote:

Originally Posted by tWVU_Fan (Post 546402)
This play happened about 20 years ago in my son's Babe Ruth League game.
Situation: Tie game bottom of the 7th(final inning)1 out, bases loaded. Batter hits a fly to left which is caught for out #2. Everyone in the park sees the runner from 3rd leave early and he beats the throw to the plate with the winning run. The runner from 2nd advanced to 3rd base on the throw home. The coach yells at his team to stay on the field and he calls time, goes to the mound for a conference to tell the pitcher proper mechanics for an appeal play. The pitcher gets the ball, steps back off the rubber and the runner from 3rd breaks for home, the pitcher throws the ball to the catcher and the runner is tagged out. The ump calls game over. The coach is wanting to continue and make the appeal but the ump tells him it's too late.
What is the correct ruling??


I am having trouble with this (what else is new)

As soon as R3 crossed the plate the game is OVER. It was the last inning game tied and R3 crossed the plate. The only purpose for the defense taking the Field again or staying on the field, would be to appeal R3 otherwise the defense might just as well line-up and shake hands.

It makes absolutely no sense.

As others mentioned if the defense played on R2 they lose their right to appeal. In fact a case could be made that as soon as the umpire saw F1 throw to F2 to retire the NEW R3, he could have called TIME and simply said - Game over.

In FED the point would be moot because the coach can make a dead ball appeal. Also, if the offense initiates the 'action" the defense does not lose their right to appeal.

All in all I have no idea why the defense would even bother with R2 now on third base as he means absolutely nothing.

Pete Booth

bossman72 Wed Oct 29, 2008 02:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve (Post 546785)
You remember when Babe Ruth was born!:)

Or Babe Ruth's gay brother... Gabe Ruth

(since we're on movie lines. haha!)

MichaelVA2000 Thu Oct 30, 2008 01:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tWVU_Fan (Post 546402)
This play happened about 20 years ago in my son's Babe Ruth League game.

Wow 20 years ago. Because the Statute of Limitations has run out, there is no ruling on this play. Your long term memory for details does impress me though.:D

Matt Thu Oct 30, 2008 09:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PeteBooth (Post 546861)
I am having trouble with this (what else is new)

As soon as R3 crossed the plate the game is OVER. It was the last inning game tied and R3 crossed the plate. The only purpose for the defense taking the Field again or staying on the field, would be to appeal R3 otherwise the defense might just as well line-up and shake hands.

It makes absolutely no sense.

As others mentioned if the defense played on R2 they lose their right to appeal. In fact a case could be made that as soon as the umpire saw F1 throw to F2 to retire the NEW R3, he could have called TIME and simply said - Game over.

In FED the point would be moot because the coach can make a dead ball appeal. Also, if the offense initiates the 'action" the defense does not lose their right to appeal.

All in all I have no idea why the defense would even bother with R2 now on third base as he means absolutely nothing.

Pete Booth

Okay, then...

If the game is over, excepting appeal, is R2 still R2? After all, he has no ability to legally run bases, and cannot be put out.

DG Thu Oct 30, 2008 10:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Emperor Ump (Post 546845)
Yeah, I remember sitting on the bench every game and then our coach remembering the 2 defensive innings rule and cussing as he had to find places to put me where I could do the least damage. Sometimes that meant I was the catcher.

I really want to apologize to those umpires who were behind me. What goes around has now come around and I think I have now paid my dues.

I remember a mother asking me why her little Johnny did not get to play infield. I told her little Johnny did not have the hand-eye coordination to play infield. Within seconds after making the comment a line drive screamer was headed for my son's head at 3B which he easily caught. It would have given little Johnny a skull fracture. She sat down and never said another word about playing infield. By the way, my son normally played catcher but we were winning big in this game and it was an opportunity for us to use another catcher, so I don't quite understand putting someone who can't catch in to play catcher.

bob jenkins Fri Oct 31, 2008 07:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt (Post 547412)
Okay, then...

If the game is over, excepting appeal, is R2 still R2? After all, he has no ability to legally run bases, and cannot be put out.

But he can be DECLARED out for a base-running infraction.

And, I'm not sure your original premise is valid anyway:

Play: Tie game, bottom of the last, 2 outs, R3. B4 grouonds to the hole at short. In order: R3 crosses the plate, then F6 throws to F3 who steps on first before B4 reaches first. If the game ends as soon as R3 touches home, then B4 can't be put out and the run counts. ;)

dash_riprock Fri Oct 31, 2008 08:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt (Post 547412)
Okay, then...

If the game is over, excepting appeal, is R2 still R2? After all, he has no ability to legally run bases, and cannot be put out.

R2 is irrelevant, but he's still R2. He can't be put out (there are already 3 outs and he can't be the advantageous 4th out), and he can't score, but he can still be played on.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1