The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Sox/Angels tag at third in 9th (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/49257-sox-angels-tag-third-9th.html)

bossman72 Mon Oct 06, 2008 10:53pm

Sox/Angels tag at third in 9th
 
Anyone see this play in the top of the 9th? I thought it was a great call!


The play: F2 dives, tags R3 (and maintains possession immediately after the tag), then falls to the ground and the impact of the ground knocks the ball out of F2's glove.

oyaisee Mon Oct 06, 2008 10:57pm

What about voluntary release?

kylejt Mon Oct 06, 2008 11:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by oyaisee (Post 541562)
What about voluntary release?

Not needed for tags of players.

SethPDX Mon Oct 06, 2008 11:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by oyaisee (Post 541562)
What about voluntary release?

It's been discussed here and other forums; all that is needed is to demonstrate control after the tag. Tonight's call would appear to confirm this is the MLB interpretation.

Dave Davies Mon Oct 06, 2008 11:10pm

Directly from the Jaksq/Roder ROPB:

"Catch" and "tag" are similar concepts. A tag [2.00] occurs when the ball is live and a fielder has the ball in his hand
or glove (or both) and
(a) a base is touched by his person, or
(b) a runner is touched by any part of the glove/ball, hand/ball, or glove/hand/ball combination.

Such fielder must have complete control of the ball during and after the touch. If the fielder bobbles or drops the ball
during or after the touch of the base or runner, and the bobble or drop is due to his lack of control of himself or the
ball, or due to contact with a runner, it is not a tag.


A fielder shows complete control by

(a) regaining control of his own body after extenuating efforts to make a tag (especially in regard to a fall, dive, or a collision), and
(b) showing that his release of the ball is (or will be) voluntary and intentional.

A fielder need not regain control of his body if he is able to voluntarily release the ball, the voluntary release alone is proof of complete control.

Dave

DG Mon Oct 06, 2008 11:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by oyaisee (Post 541562)
What about voluntary release?

Required for a catch.

Dave Davies Mon Oct 06, 2008 11:18pm

And a Tag, according to J/R

MrUmpire Mon Oct 06, 2008 11:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by oyaisee (Post 541562)
What about voluntary release?


When it comes to tags and catches of thrown balls (as opposed to catches of batted balls) MLB, for some time, has followed the theory of "long enough" as espoused by Jim Evans.

MrUmpire Mon Oct 06, 2008 11:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dave Davies (Post 541572)
And a Tag, according to J/R

Roder does not speak for MLB...just the umpire union.

justanotherblue Mon Oct 06, 2008 11:56pm

I felt it was a dropped ball, no tag. In watching the replay, you can see U3 didn't watch the entire play. He was calling the runner out as Veritek (sp?)was falling.

blue83 Tue Oct 07, 2008 12:07am

Thinking of a tag at the plate where the tag is made and the catcher falls backwards and the ball falls out of the glove after hitting the ground. Safe. Why is contact with this tag any different? He was not able to fully control the ball. When does the play end?

kylejt Tue Oct 07, 2008 12:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by justanotherblue (Post 541579)
I felt it was a dropped ball, no tag. In watching the replay, you can see U3 didn't watch the entire play. He was calling the runner out as Veritek (sp?)was falling.

I saw that too. He never watched the catcher bounce, and release the ball. I guess it just didn't matter because he had control of the ball during the tag.

MrUmpire Tue Oct 07, 2008 12:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by blue83 (Post 541582)
Thinking of a tag at the plate where the tag is made and the catcher falls backwards and the ball falls out of the glove after hitting the ground. Safe. Why is contact with this tag any different? He was not able to fully control the ball. When does the play end?

Caveat: I have not yet seen the play.

Question: Did the ball drop as a result of the tag or action after the tag?

In the case of the play at the plate cited above, the ball falls out of the glove due to the tag. Compare that with F2 tagging a runner, and then taking two steps towards the infield and then having the ball fall to the ground. Did he hold it long enough?

SanDiegoSteve Tue Oct 07, 2008 01:04am

if you watch the play in regular speed, not super slow-mo, I don't think the correct call was made. The ball most certainly didn't meet the "long enough" standard. I've seen outfielders catch balls and then run five or six steps into the wall and lose possession, and these have been emphatically called, "no catch." Varitek did nothing to demonstrate either control or voluntary release as well. It is my opinion that if Varitek had held the ball after colliding with the ground, then as he was showing the ball it fell out, it would be an out, and he would have had it long enough. But to tag the runner then hit the ground in the same motion dropping the ball on impact, that's stretching it a little.

Varitek tagged the runner and in the same motion his mitt slammed into the ground dislodging the ball. In the meantime, Tim Welke was already signaling and calling the out before the ball even popped out. He called the out the nanosecond the tag was applied and did not even see the ball pop out. Absolutlely terrible timing on his part. I know that he was trained as we all were to see the entire play through until the action stops before making his call. He most definitely did not do that on this play.

If I were making the call, I would have waited until action had ceased, while keeping my eyes everalastingly on the baseball (as the rules instruct). I would have seen the ball rolling away and called the runner safe. This isn't football...the ground certainly can cause a fumble.

soundedlikeastrike Tue Oct 07, 2008 01:58am

Pool night, juke box playing, but I caught the blown squeeze attempt outta the corner of my eye, only saw it once; but it looked like the end result was safe:

Here's why I disagee and agree:

Safe call; nobody bats an eye, per definitions above. I'd almost agree with that..

Out: sure, and what he called. F2 made the tag, gathered himself (like he thought he missed him) and made a "second" (unessacary lunge and tag) which was then followed by the drop, seems "long enough" was the call.
And from what I saw, blue, called the out when he saw "F2 gather himself".

So what's "long enough" looks like, if you have the ability to "re-tag an already out runner", that's long enough.

Rich Tue Oct 07, 2008 05:20am

Regardless of how we feel, the call was verified by the MLB head of umpiring (Leppard) and a new standard was set that (for better or worse) we'll be expected to uphold cause everyone will remember this play.

I like the call. It was two distinct motions -- he held the ball securely during and after the tag and only then did he fall and have the glove bang on the ground. I always felt J/R was pissing into the wind on this particular play anyway.

mbyron Tue Oct 07, 2008 06:23am

I agree with Rich. Welke was right on top of this, and judged that the ball was held long enough. Replay demonstrated two distinct motions, the tag and then the fall.

I didn't like the call in live action, but it looked right on replay.

BretMan Tue Oct 07, 2008 07:08am

The most refreshing aspect of the play:

Hearing the announcers (I believe it was Eckersley), after numerous replays, say something along the lines of, "Was that the right call? I don't have any idea. I've always wondered about something like that".

So much better that the made-up playground rule myths many announcers pass off as "expert" commentary!

One announcer even noted that, "Unlike football, the ground can cause a fumble".

Okay, I was half asleep when this play happened- actually had just woke up on the couch right after the play and during the replays- but here's what it looked like to me.

It looked like Varitek lunged and made a tag (at least, what the umpire could have reasonably ruled a tag from his position- the first swipe at the runner looked like maybe there was a couple of inches of air between the mitt and the runner), held onto the ball, then lunged a second time making, apparently, another tag (I wonder- just to be "sure", or because he knew he missed the first tag?).

After the second tag, the catcher's momentum carried him to the ground where the ball subsequently popped out after he hit the ground.

Sound about right? If the first attempt was ruled a tag, it seems that Varitek did have control throughout that initial tag (runner out), then lost it and the second swipe and ground contact (which would all be moot if the first tag was ruled valid).

But I do remember thinking that if the umpire had paused a second longer, "safe" could have been an easy sell! I haven't seen or read any follow-up discussions on this call since watching the replays with one eye closed last night.

David B Tue Oct 07, 2008 08:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve (Post 541594)
if you watch the play in regular speed, not super slow-mo, I don't think the correct call was made. The ball most certainly didn't meet the "long enough" standard. I've seen outfielders catch balls and then run five or six steps into the wall and lose possession, and these have been emphatically called, "no catch." Varitek did nothing to demonstrate either control or voluntary release as well. It is my opinion that if Varitek had held the ball after colliding with the ground, then as he was showing the ball it fell out, it would be an out, and he would have had it long enough. But to tag the runner then hit the ground in the same motion dropping the ball on impact, that's stretching it a little.

Varitek tagged the runner and in the same motion his mitt slammed into the ground dislodging the ball. In the meantime, Tim Welke was already signaling and calling the out before the ball even popped out. He called the out the nanosecond the tag was applied and did not even see the ball pop out. Absolutlely terrible timing on his part. I know that he was trained as we all were to see the entire play through until the action stops before making his call. He most definitely did not do that on this play.

If I were making the call, I would have waited until action had ceased, while keeping my eyes everalastingly on the baseball (as the rules instruct). I would have seen the ball rolling away and called the runner safe. This isn't football...the ground certainly can cause a fumble.


Exactly my take on the play. Also I was bothered by the constant explaination that there is a difference at home vs at other bases on a tag play.

Then I heard the same thing on Sportscenter this morning -

Thansk
David

PeteBooth Tue Oct 07, 2008 08:31am

Quote:

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dave Davies (Post 541568)
Directly from the Jaksq/Roder ROPB:

"Catch" and "tag" are similar concepts. A tag [2.00] occurs when the ball is live and a fielder has the ball in his hand
or glove (or both) and
(a) a base is touched by his person, or
(b) a runner is touched by any part of the glove/ball, hand/ball, or glove/hand/ball combination.

Such fielder must have complete control of the ball during and after the touch. If the fielder bobbles or drops the ball
during or after the touch of the base or runner, and the bobble or drop is due to his lack of control of himself or the
ball, or due to contact with a runner, it is not a tag.


A fielder shows complete control by

(a) regaining control of his own body after extenuating efforts to make a tag (especially in regard to a fall, dive, or a collision), and
(b) showing that his release of the ball is (or will be) voluntary and intentional.

A fielder need not regain control of his body if he is able to voluntarily release the ball, the voluntary release alone is proof of complete control.

Dave


Dave this is an area where Roder and Evans disagree

From Evans

Quote:

JEA (discussion following Rule 2.0 Tag:

"In establishing the validity of secure possession at the time of a tag, the umpire should determine that the player held the ball long enough and did not juggle the ball or momentarily lose possession before gaining full control and touching the runner. Unlike a catch, a legal tag is based on the status of the ball at the time the runner or base is touched and not on the final proof of possession."
The call last night was "text book" Evans and is the way it is called in a major league baseball game.

Pete Booth

dash_riprock Tue Oct 07, 2008 09:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve (Post 541594)
In the meantime, Tim Welke was already signaling and calling the out before the ball even popped out. He called the out the nanosecond the tag was applied and did not even see the ball pop out.

That's what I saw too. Welke kept his eyes on the spot of the initial tag, and couldn't have seen the ball pop out. The rest was a sales job (and a good one at that). If Hargrove had persisted and convinced Welke to consult with his partners, I think there's a very good chance the call would have been reversed (and the post game sales job would be 180° different).

Now imagine what Welke was going through. He had to sell the out call (control when the tag was made, before the ball popped out, blah, blah, blah) having no idea when or why Varitek dropped the ball. I would have been soiling my drawers.

rulesmaven Tue Oct 07, 2008 09:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BretMan (Post 541610)
It looked like Varitek lunged and made a tag (at least, what the umpire could have reasonably ruled a tag from his position- the first swipe at the runner looked like maybe there was a couple of inches of air between the mitt and the runner), held onto the ball, then lunged a second time making, apparently, another tag (I wonder- just to be "sure", or because he knew he missed the first tag?).

I didn't see it that way. It looked to me like Varitek got him the first time and knew he got him. On the way to ground, he held the glove up in the air a bit to show that he had the ball. (He had been holding it in his hand to possibly throw it and transferred it just before the tag.) I don't think there was a second lunge, just a continuation of the action. It appeared to me that once Welke saw Varitek hold the ball up, he decided he'd seen enough.

Kevin Finnerty Tue Oct 07, 2008 10:57am

I'm sorry to disagree, but Varitek didn't "hold the ball up." Did anyone else see it that way?

And then regarding what Dash said, if Welke never saw when or how the ball came loose, how in the hell did he get away with not conferring with the rest of the crew? If there was ever a call...

It is an interpretation of a rule on top of a tough, exploding play. It cried out for a conference.

kylejt Tue Oct 07, 2008 11:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rulesmaven (Post 541646)
I don't think there was a second lunge, just a continuation of the action. It appeared to me that once Welke saw Varitek hold the ball up, he decided he'd seen enough.

Welke wasn't looking at Varitek after the tag, and never saw the ball come out. He was focused on the point of the tag the whole time.

BretMan Tue Oct 07, 2008 11:01am

Okay. I finally had a chance to see the replay- fully awake this time!- and run it frame-by-frame on the DVR.

I think that what I was seeing as a "second tag attempt" was just Varitek's momentum carrying him forward and his arm whipping to the ground as his elbow hit the dirt.

Here's what I did see:

- Varitek lunges and tags the runner- right in the tooshkie- with the ball firmly held in glove, approximately six to eight feet before the bag.

- Umpire pointing to signal the tag and out right at that point.

- Ball still firmly held in the glove as Varitek's momentum carries him forward.

- Varitek's elbow hits the ground about even with the bag and that jars the ball loose. His mitt is actually about two feet past the bag when the ball pops out.

Sounds like a textbook "out" under the Evans interpretation.

rulesmaven Tue Oct 07, 2008 11:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BretMan (Post 541667)
- Varitek lunges and tags the runner- right in the tooshkie- with the ball firmly held in glove, approximately six to eight feet before the bag.

- Umpire pointing to signal the tag and out right at that point.

- Ball still firmly held in the glove as Varitek's momentum carries him forward.

- Varitek's elbow hits the ground about even with the bag and that jars the ball loose. His mitt is actually about two feet past the bag when the ball pops out.

Sounds like a textbook "out" under the Evans interpretation.

That was my thought too -- looked like the ball came loose a good 9 to 11 feet after the tag. Under the Evans interpretation, it's no doubt this was an out, IMO. Under a voluntary release rule, it's much closer.

As for whether or not Varitek was showing the mitt to Welke or not, I stand by my original interpretation -- Varitek was clearly holding the mitt aloft for a moment, until his elbow hit the ground. Not sure that would matter under voluntary release interpretation, though. But if the right question is whether Varitek maintained control throughout the tag, I think they got it right.

Kevin Finnerty Tue Oct 07, 2008 11:23am

Having the mitt extended as he was falling was not holding it up to show that he still had the ball. It is a big stretch. He was totally out of control. And if regaining control of himself was an issue in the rule interpretation, then it may have been a blown call. Welke not staying with the call was pretty bad, too. A conference would have helped, but you have to be more interested in getting the call right and not maintaining your pride. We found out what Welke's priorities are on that one.

rulesmaven Tue Oct 07, 2008 11:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kevin Finnerty (Post 541672)
And if regaining control of himself was an issue in the rule interpretation, then it may have been a blown call.

Edit: Nevermind, I'm out my league here and will leave it to the experts.

Tim C Tue Oct 07, 2008 11:35am

Please
 
re-read RichMSN's post.

Steve Palermo just gave the "official ruling" (I am sure some of you can find it and post it) that said:

"At the instant of the tag the fielder was in secure possession of the ball and anything that happened after that is moot."

(My paraphrase from the sound bite I heard.)

This is dangerous territory as we know F2's are often in full possession and control when they are steam rolled at the dish YET if the ball comes loose traditionally the call has reverted to "SAFE".

I find this entire situation very interesting.

Regards,

johnnyg08 Tue Oct 07, 2008 12:14pm

to follow TimC's response

http://losangeles.angels.mlb.com/new...=.jsp&c_id=ana

Rich Ives Tue Oct 07, 2008 12:15pm

I'm thinking that the difference is that if the force of the tag is the cause of the ball coming loose - it's not a tag. Rationale: if the ball came loose you didn't have secure possession.

Getting steamrolled could therefore be looked at as the force of the tag causing the ball to come loose.

In the Varitek play the tag was over and subsequent action caused the ball to come loose.


Just my 2 cents.

BretMan Tue Oct 07, 2008 12:25pm

Rich, that has always been my understanding.

Ball comes out during tag = no control of ball/not securely held.

Ball comes out after tag = valid tag, as long as ball was secure during the tagging action itself.

UmpJM Tue Oct 07, 2008 01:06pm

Oddly enough, I had just posted the different Evans and Roder criteria for judging the validity of a tag on a thread on the umpire.org site just before this play happened last night.

To me, the Evans interp always made more sense and was more consistent with the actual text of the rules, and I thought Welke's call was correct.

I believe Rich Ives hits the key distinction in his post above - the tag itself did not result in Varitek (involuntarily) losing control of the ball. His lack of body control did.

But, since "voluntary release" is not a criteria for establishing the validity of a tag (unless you subscribe to Roder's hypothesis, of course), and Varitek clearly had "secure possession" of the ball before, during, and immediately after the tag, it's a good tag.

JM

johnnyg08 Tue Oct 07, 2008 01:41pm

The video...I don't remmeber if anybody posted the link on here or not.

http://boston.redsox.mlb.com/media/v...00013&c_id=bos

Kevin Finnerty Tue Oct 07, 2008 02:28pm

Just for the record...
 
I thought it was a good call, except for him not staying with the play, and not asking for a conference. He got the actual play right, but did it the wrong way.

johnnyg08 Tue Oct 07, 2008 02:43pm

If he got it right, knew he got it right, why would he conference?

I agree that he should've stayed w/ the play...but the conference is not always necessary...I wish more people agreed w/ me on that...maybe I'm the one who's wrong on that?

kylejt Tue Oct 07, 2008 02:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kevin Finnerty (Post 541757)
I thought it was a good call, except for him not staying with the play, and not asking for a conference. He got the actual play right, but did it the wrong way.


Whoa!

If you subscribe to the out call, then what he did was perfect. He saw the tag with a controlled ball, and called the out. No need to follow the ball, nor any need to get help. It was all right in front of him. You wouldn't get help on this one, unless it was protested.

JR12 Tue Oct 07, 2008 06:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by kylejt (Post 541770)
Whoa!

If you subscribe to the out call, then what he did was perfect. He saw the tag with a controlled ball, and called the out. No need to follow the ball, nor any need to get help. It was all right in front of him. You wouldn't get help on this one, unless it was protested.

Good point!

bossman72 Tue Oct 07, 2008 09:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 541695)
I'm thinking that the difference is that if the force of the tag is the cause of the ball coming loose - it's not a tag. Rationale: if the ball came loose you didn't have secure possession.

Getting steamrolled could therefore be looked at as the force of the tag causing the ball to come loose.

In the Varitek play the tag was over and subsequent action caused the ball to come loose.


Just my 2 cents.

Bingo!

kylejt Tue Oct 07, 2008 10:42pm

Okay my children, let's go back to this famous play.

Kit hits a triple, but decides to go for the dish. Evelyn finally hits her cutoff, and the throw comes home. Dottie has the ball, and braces for impact. Kit sends Dottie flying. Whilst in flight, Dottie has a secure hold of the ball. It's only until Dottie's back smacks the ground, and she comes to rest on the ground does she release the orb.

Enter Squiggy. "SHE DROPPED THE BALL!"

So, what was the call here?

bossman72 Tue Oct 07, 2008 10:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by kylejt (Post 541868)
Okay my children, let's go back to this famous play.

Kit hits a triple, but decides to go for the dish. Evelyn finally hits her cutoff, and the throw comes home. Dottie has the ball, and braces for impact. Kit sends Dottie flying. Whilst in flight, Dottie has a secure hold of the ball. It's only until Dottie's back smacks the ground, and she comes to rest on the ground does she release the orb.

Enter Squiggy. "SHE DROPPED THE BALL!"

So, what was the call here?

Safe - force of the tag caused the ball to come out (because F2 was plowed over while tagging).

Kevin Finnerty Tue Oct 07, 2008 10:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnnyg08 (Post 541769)
If he got it right, knew he got it right, why would he conference?

I agree that he should've stayed w/ the play...but the conference is not always necessary...I wish more people agreed w/ me on that...maybe I'm the one who's wrong on that?

Just because the ball came loose and he never even knew it. He should have sucked it up and made sure he got it right.

Rich Ives Tue Oct 07, 2008 11:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by kylejt (Post 541868)
Okay my children, let's go back to this famous play.

Kit hits a triple, but decides to go for the dish. Evelyn finally hits her cutoff, and the throw comes home. Dottie has the ball, and braces for impact. Kit sends Dottie flying. Whilst in flight, Dottie has a secure hold of the ball. It's only until Dottie's back smacks the ground, and she comes to rest on the ground does she release the orb.

Enter Squiggy. "SHE DROPPED THE BALL!"

So, what was the call here?

Dottie dropped it on purpose to give her sister her confidence back.

MrUmpire Tue Oct 07, 2008 11:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by kylejt (Post 541868)
Okay my children, let's go back to this famous play.

Kit hits a triple, but decides to go for the dish. Evelyn finally hits her cutoff, and the throw comes home. Dottie has the ball, and braces for impact. Kit sends Dottie flying. Whilst in flight, Dottie has a secure hold of the ball. It's only until Dottie's back smacks the ground, and she comes to rest on the ground does she release the orb.

Enter Squiggy. "SHE DROPPED THE BALL!"

So, what was the call here?

Beats me. i don't work softball.

kylejt Tue Oct 07, 2008 11:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MrUmpire (Post 541879)
Beats me. i don't work softball.

Are you brand new?

Welpe Tue Oct 07, 2008 11:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MrUmpire (Post 541879)
Beats me. i don't work softball.

"Are you crying?!"

David B Tue Oct 07, 2008 11:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BretMan (Post 541702)
Rich, that has always been my understanding.

Ball comes out during tag = no control of ball/not securely held.

Ball comes out after tag = valid tag, as long as ball was secure during the tagging action itself.

That does make sense and seems to be what MLB is saying publicly at least.

Was watching the play over again on DVR and then listening to Showalter explain the play - basically he is right, they didn't execute.

And then trying a squeeze with a LHB is never a good idea.;)

Thanks
David

Kevin Finnerty Wed Oct 08, 2008 12:36am

Squiggy Trivia:
 
David Lander, the guy who played Squiggy (and the scribe in "League"), is an extreme baseball fan, and is actually a former Angels scout and a current Seattle Mariners scout. He lives near where I umpire most of my games, and he actually scouts some of the games.

SanDiegoSteve Wed Oct 08, 2008 10:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MrUmpire (Post 541879)
Beats me. i don't work softball.

Which is fine and dandy, except they were playing baseball.:rolleyes:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1