The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Appeal (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/49033-appeal.html)

Nigel Tufnel Sat Sep 20, 2008 12:36pm

Appeal
 
No outs. Batter hits triple and in doing so misses second base.
As the defense appeals, the pitcher throws the ball over the covering shortstop and into center field. Runner on third who hit the triple comes in to score.
Does the run count, even though this may be considered a play and an error on the defense? Or is this not considered a play and no err should be called while the center fielder throws back in to second?

canadaump6 Sat Sep 20, 2008 12:45pm

The appeal counts. An err is throwing the ball out of play.

griff901c Sat Sep 20, 2008 01:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by canadaump6 (Post 538279)
The appeal counts. An err is throwing the ball out of play.

Where(how) did the ball go out of play? A dropped fly ball is an error.Ball still in play....

How can the appeal count? You get one try at the appeal....throw the ball away...you lose...

Run scores....no outs.....next

griff

UmpJM Sat Sep 20, 2008 01:25pm

Since the opportunity to do so presents itself so infrequently, I would like to take this opportunity to say that I fully concur with canadaump6's assertion that, as long as the "errant throw" over the F6's head into centerfield does not actually go out of play, AND the defense properly completes the appeal of the BR's miss of 2B, the BR would properly be called out on appeal and his apparent run negated.

JM

SethPDX Sat Sep 20, 2008 01:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by griff901c (Post 538282)
Where(how) did the ball go out of play? A dropped fly ball is an error.Ball still in play....

I think he means "error" as in the OBR line "if the defensive team errs" (7.10).

But I think canada's right. In 7.10 it says the intended meaning of "err" is throwing the ball out of play. It also says the appeal is not considered a play, so I think F8 could throw back to F6 for the appeal at 2B and an out.

Rich Sat Sep 20, 2008 01:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by griff901c (Post 538282)
Where(how) did the ball go out of play? A dropped fly ball is an error.Ball still in play....

How can the appeal count? You get one try at the appeal....throw the ball away...you lose...

Run scores....no outs.....next

griff

Canada's post is 100% accurate. How the ball gets to second is irrelevant, as long as the ball is live and doesn't go out of play (or provided the defense doesn't make a play on R3).

griff901c Sat Sep 20, 2008 02:05pm

Not sure I agree...I still go with the one shot theory at the appeal.Throw the ball over F6 head...missed opportunity at an appeal.How many tries do they get to get it right?

Out on a 1-8-6 appeal?

griff

Tim C Sat Sep 20, 2008 02:06pm

Me too!
 
I agree with:

RichMSN
SethPDX
UmpJM
canadaump

I disagree with:

griff901c

As does Evans.

Regards,

mattmets Sat Sep 20, 2008 02:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tim C (Post 538292)
I agree with:

RichMSN
SethPDX
UmpJM
canadaump
I disagree with:

griff901c

As does Evans.

Regards,

Can I get that bolded part framed? :p

griff901c Sat Sep 20, 2008 02:49pm

I stand corrected.


griff

canadaump6 Sat Sep 20, 2008 03:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tim C (Post 538292)
I agree with:

RichMSN
SethPDX
UmpJM
canadaump

I disagree with:

griff901c

As does Evans.

Regards,

Quoted as a defining moment at officiating.com;)

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 538289)
Canada's post is 100% accurate. How the ball gets to second is irrelevant, as long as the ball is live and doesn't go out of play (or provided the defense doesn't make a play on R3).

Also quoted as a defining moment at officiating.com.

SanDiegoSteve Sat Sep 20, 2008 03:51pm

Even the blind squirrel gets the occasional nut! :D

umpjong Sat Sep 20, 2008 04:46pm

Griff is correct in NCAA rule interp. If a runner advances on a botched appeal play then there can no longer be an appeal. NCAA Rule 8-6-b (5b) pg. 98.

griff901c Sat Sep 20, 2008 06:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by umpjong (Post 538314)
Griff is correct in NCAA rule interp. If a runner advances on a botched appeal play then there can no longer be an appeal. NCAA Rule 8-6-b (5b) pg. 98.

Yes..Yes..Yes..thats what I meant...NCAA...Thats it!:rolleyes::D

griff

Rich Sat Sep 20, 2008 08:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by griff901c (Post 538324)
Yes..Yes..Yes..thats what I meant...NCAA...Thats it!:rolleyes::D

griff

It's interesting, actually.

The NCAA uses the word errs completely different from OBR/PBUC/Evans. "Errs" in that setting refers only to a ball thrown out of play. The NCAA clearly means something different.

I never consider NCAA to be the default rule set, though, even though I work NCAA games.

I find it to be an unusual rule, actually. I can appeal by stepping off and walking the ball to the base in NCAA. Why would the route the ball takes to the base be important?

Klokard Sat Sep 20, 2008 11:01pm

Let's go one step further on the original post. If the runner on 3rd is heads up enough to return to second on the errant throw by the pitcher, has he now rightfully acquired second base? Assuming as brought forth in a previous post the ball is live.

yawetag Sun Sep 21, 2008 12:15am

As long as the ball never goes dead. Once the ball is dead, a player has no right to return to a base they missed, unless it's to retouch on a defense error (ball thrown out of play).

Quote:

Originally Posted by Klokard (Post 538347)
Let's go one step further on the original post. If the runner on 3rd is heads up enough to return to second on the errant throw by the pitcher, has he now rightfully acquired second base? Assuming as brought forth in a previous post the ball is live.


ptmac Sun Sep 21, 2008 12:51am

touching a prior base
 
Once a runner has touched a succeeding base, they lose the right to return to an untouched base. For example, in MacGuire's record home run, he missed first base and was called back to touch it before touching second. If he had touched second, the defence could have appealed after the ball was put back into play and the home run would have been negated on the failure to touch first.

Matt Sun Sep 21, 2008 01:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by yawetag (Post 538354)
As long as the ball never goes dead. Once the ball is dead, a player has no right to return to a base they missed, unless it's to retouch on a defense error (ball thrown out of play).

This is not true in OBR. As long as the runner does not touch an advance base after the ball goes dead, he may correct his error.

mbyron Sun Sep 21, 2008 03:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ptmac (Post 538357)
Once a runner has touched a succeeding base, they lose the right to return to an untouched base.

This is true ONLY when the ball goes out of play. In your example, it was a dead ball on the HR. In the OP, the ball is live, and the runner MAY return to correct his baserunning error.

yawetag Sun Sep 21, 2008 05:42pm

You are correct. As long as a succeeding base is not touched, you can return to touch it.

This i what I meant: BR hits long shot over F9's head. BR misses first, and touches second. On the way to third, F9 throws ball over F5, sailing into stands. BR has no right to return to first for a touch. He takes penalty as given, then defense can appeal the miss at first.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Matt (Post 538361)
This is not true in OBR. As long as the runner does not touch an advance base after the ball goes dead, he may correct his error.


Dave Reed Sun Sep 21, 2008 07:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by yawetag (Post 538411)
You [mbryon] are correct. As long as a succeeding base is not touched, you can return to touch it.

This i what I meant: BR hits long shot over F9's head. BR misses first, and touches second. On the way to third, F9 throws ball over F5, sailing into stands. BR has no right to return to first for a touch. He takes penalty as given, then defense can appeal the miss at first.

mbryon was correct. However, your example is wrong for OBR and NCAA. The runner can return unless he touches a next base after the ball goes dead on a overthrow. See PBUC 3.10 or J/R Chapter 9 B(3)

Matt Sun Sep 21, 2008 09:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by yawetag (Post 538411)
You are correct. As long as a succeeding base is not touched, you can return to touch it.

That is not what I said. But I am correct.

Quote:

Originally Posted by yawetag (Post 538411)
This i what I meant: BR hits long shot over F9's head. BR misses first, and touches second. On the way to third, F9 throws ball over F5, sailing into stands. BR has no right to return to first for a touch. He takes penalty as given, then defense can appeal the miss at first.

You are wrong. If a runner touches no advance base after the ball goes out of play, he can return to any preceding base to correct an error, dead ball notwithstanding. If he misses first and is in between third and home when the ball goes out of play, he can still legally rectify his error.

Matt Sun Sep 21, 2008 09:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dave Reed (Post 538423)
mbryon was correct. However, your example is wrong for OBR and NCAA. The runner can return unless he touches a next base after the ball goes dead on a overthrow. See PBUC 3.10 or J/R Chapter 9 B(3)

Or MLBUM 5.12.

mbyron Mon Sep 22, 2008 06:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dave Reed (Post 538423)
mbyron was correct.

Fixed that for ya. :cool:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1