The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 25, 2002, 11:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 37
Question

Situation: Batter hits ball and reaches base safely. R1 moves from 1st to 3rd and rounds 3rd. Ball is thrown to catcher and runner stops, not on the base. Catcher moves toward R1 but runner does not return to base. Catcher calls time, umpire does not suspend play.

Is that because the umpire judged the play to be in progress and 5.10 (h) applies. "Except in the cases stated in paragraphs (b) and (c) (1) of this rule, no umpire shall call "Time" while a play is in progress."

Is there anyplace that says when a play is no longer in progress, such as when the lead runner has returned to his base?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1