The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   player missing on lineup card... (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/47136-player-missing-lineup-card.html)

fits Mon Aug 11, 2008 04:11pm

player missing on lineup card...
 
For our region tournament we have 'official scorers' for each game. Official rosters have been turned in before the tournament starts. We use Official Baseball Rules. A lot of the umpires give the lineup card to the scorekeeper to track the changes.
Situation...Later innings of a game, a pinch hitter comes to the plate. Neither manager say anything after the umpire announces the hitter for B7. After a pitch has been thrown, the commissioner of the tournament stops play and states that the pinch hitter is not on the lineup card. The pinch hitter is on the official roster that was handed in before the tournament.
My question is: Who is responsible for catching this error? Is it the HP umpire, official scorer, opposing manager, commissioner, ....
And also, how should this be handled in a game situation?

UmpTTS43 Mon Aug 11, 2008 04:31pm

There is no error. Between the ORB and the MLBUM the wording states, (don't have books in front of me), that the manager "may" or "should" list the substitutes on the line up card. They do not state that he "shall" or "must." By listing the substitutes, it is considered a courtesy. As long as a player is on the roster, he is eligible to play.

In fact, when the coaches around here list the subs, they usually list them right next to the lineup so it is a pain to list the actual subs when they enter the game.

SanDiegoSteve Mon Aug 11, 2008 05:16pm

The commissioner should have called Commissioner Gordon and had Batman show him how he screwed the pooch.

My question...what is the commissioner doing interjecting himself into the baseball game to begin with? He has absolutely no authority to stop play. The Umpire-in-Chief is the only one who can "stop play."

So, not only is this commissioner a boob for not knowing the rules, but for not knowing that he had no business on the ball field unless asked by the umpire to rule on a tournament-related issue.

SethPDX Mon Aug 11, 2008 05:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fits
And also, how should this be handled in a game situation?

"Is he on the roster? Yes? Good. Put his name in the scorebook and let's go."

ozzy6900 Mon Aug 11, 2008 06:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SethPDX
"Is he on the roster? Yes? Good. Put his name in the scorebook and let's go."

This is the most intelligent answer to the situation! Bravo!

Rcichon Tue Aug 12, 2008 08:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
The commissioner should have called Commissioner Gordon and had Batman show him how he screwed the pooch.

My question...what is the commissioner doing interjecting himself into the baseball game to begin with? He has absolutely no authority to stop play. The Umpire-in-Chief is the only one who can "stop play."

So, not only is this commissioner a boob for not knowing the rules, but for not knowing that he had no business on the ball field unless asked by the umpire to rule on a tournament-related issue.

Yeah. Had this happen in a District and later, a Sectional game. Nope, he saw fit to try to halt the game. I called time to advise him to shut his yap and let the Manager do his job. Of course the ensuing question about the player at bat clued everyone in. Pissed off the opposing Manager. And eventually that drew an apology from the Regional DA (in both games).

They've got to train these people better.

As to the OP: If the player is on the Tournament Affidavit, he can play. Period. If they make any decision contrary to that, shut your yap and let the 'offended' Manager protest. Not your job to educate him/her.

mikebran Tue Aug 12, 2008 12:34pm

Boing!
 
AA OOOO GA!

AA OOOO GA!


Quote:

Originally Posted by fits
A lot of the umpires give the lineup card to the scorekeeper to track the changes.


SethPDX Tue Aug 12, 2008 03:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rcichon
As to the OP: If the player is on the Tournament Affidavit, he can play. Period. If they make any decision contrary to that, shut your yap and let the 'offended' Manager protest. Not your job to educate him/her.

I would love to see what would happen if a manager in my area turned in a lineup card with no subs and started putting in players on the affadavit, but not the card. The scorekeeper's head might explode:D .


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1