The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 18, 2002, 02:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
NCAA: Tie score, bottom of 9th inning. Able on 3B, Baker on 1B, one out. Charles hits a ground ball to F3, who steps on 1B to retire Charles and then throws home too late to get Able. At that point, is the game over, or is there anything Baker can do (like missing 2B or abandoning effort or punching F4 in the nose) to be called out on a force out that nullifies the run?

Or another version: Same situation, but home team down by 1 run. Charles grounds to F3 who steps on 1B to retire Charles, sees he cannot get Able at the plate, and throws to 2B in attempt to retire Baker. Throw goes wild into outfield and Baker ends up scoring, but missed 2B. Does the appeal at 2B void Able's run, too?

Sorry for using names, but I always seem to get R1, R2, etc., mixed up.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1