The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Legion Baseball Question (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/46415-legion-baseball-question.html)

Gmoore Thu Jul 17, 2008 04:00pm

Legion Baseball Question
 
Team A's best player is not there for the game the game gets suspended in bottom of the 9th due to rain and game is tied.

Make up date is set and Team A's best player is back can he play in the game?

BigUmp56 Thu Jul 17, 2008 04:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gmoore
Team A's best player is not there for the game the game gets suspended in bottom of the 9th due to rain and game is tied.

Make up date is set and Team A's best player is back can he play in the game?


Yes.......................


Tim.

Gmoore Thu Jul 17, 2008 04:24pm

Thanks.... I thought he would be able to play.

bobbybanaduck Thu Jul 17, 2008 09:25pm

i'm goin with no if he wasn't on the original line up card, but can argue it either way. my argument for no is that the exact line up card from that game has to be used in the completion of the contest, and only players that are on that lineup are eligible. the exception, as stated in OBR 4.12c, is for a player that was not with the club on the date the game was played. the wording of the rule (shocking, i know) is a bit amibiguous, because it allows for multiple interpretations of what "with the club" means, and is where the argument for yes could arise.

from the professional standpoint, "with the club" means on the roster, and does not mean on vacation or sick or whatever. if a guy is on the roster and does not come to the game for whatever reason, pro managers still list him on the card in case this type of scenario happens. the reference in 4.12c to a player not with the club means that a guy has been traded to or acquired by the team at a point in time after that game was suspended, and it is allowing said player to participate in the completion of the suspended game.

i looked through the Legion rules http://www.baseball.legion.org/forms/alb_rules2008.pdf
and did not find anything that specifically covers this as a rules difference, so you gotta use the OBR to govern, which would lead me to my answer of no because of the above stated professional meaning of "with the club."

BigUmp56 Thu Jul 17, 2008 10:33pm

Bobby,

If he's a rostered player, he's eligible......................period.


Tim.

Rich Ives Thu Jul 17, 2008 10:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bobbybanaduck
i'm goin with no if he wasn't on the original line up card, but can argue it either way. my argument for no is that the exact line up card from that game has to be used in the completion of the contest, and only players that are on that lineup are eligible. the exception, as stated in OBR 4.12c, is for a player that was not with the club on the date the game was played. the wording of the rule (shocking, i know) is a bit amibiguous, because it allows for multiple interpretations of what "with the club" means, and is where the argument for yes could arise.

from the professional standpoint, "with the club" means on the roster, and does not mean on vacation or sick or whatever. if a guy is on the roster and does not come to the game for whatever reason, pro managers still list him on the card in case this type of scenario happens. the reference in 4.12c to a player not with the club means that a guy has been traded to or acquired by the team at a point in time after that game was suspended, and it is allowing said player to participate in the completion of the suspended game.

i looked through the Legion rules http://www.baseball.legion.org/forms/alb_rules2008.pdf
and did not find anything that specifically covers this as a rules difference, so you gotta use the OBR to govern, which would lead me to my answer of no because of the above stated professional meaning of "with the club."

Wow - a most unique claim. Before anyone can buy into this, please tell us where the rule is that says all the players have to be on the "lineup card" in the first place.


4.01
(a) First, the home manager shall give his batting order to the umpire-in-chief, in duplicate.

(b) Next, the visiting manager shall give his batting order to the umpire-in-chief, in duplicate.

4.04
The batting order shall be followed throughout the game unless a player is substituted for another. In that case the substitute shall take the place of the replaced player in the batting order.


So therfore the batting order is only the players in the game, not the subs. AND, this is all that is required to be exchanged.

In addition:

The roster is the official list of eligible team members, not a list of those present for the game. In pro baseball the league office has the official version. Most youth leagues have a player agent or whatever that maintains the official roster. American Legion has ALB Registration Form #1 which lists the team

http://www.baseball.legion.org/forms/alb_form1.pdf

SanDiegoSteve Thu Jul 17, 2008 11:26pm

I'm Tall is wrong on this one. Better go ask Ed King!:)

bobbybanaduck Thu Jul 17, 2008 11:55pm

Ed king would fall over and shake if you asked him that. crow eaten. too many double talking rules and interps (MLBUM states SHALL list all players, but then says they don't have to later. splendid.) and too much reading into it by the tall one. answer changed to yes, let the fool play.

SanDiegoSteve Fri Jul 18, 2008 02:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bobbybanaduck
Ed king would fall over and shake if you asked him that. crow eaten. too many double talking rules and interps (MLBUM states SHALL list all players, but then says they don't have to later. splendid.) and too much reading into it by the tall one. answer changed to yes, let the fool play.

Hey, you're pretty damn bright, and you don't get tripped up very often. What, you're batting around .999 now? It is good to know I'm not the only one who gets a rule screwed up now and then.

Shut up Tyler:) :) :)

Rich Ives Fri Jul 18, 2008 09:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bobbybanaduck
Ed king would fall over and shake if you asked him that. crow eaten. too many double talking rules and interps (MLBUM states SHALL list all players, but then says they don't have to later. splendid.) and too much reading into it by the tall one. answer changed to yes, let the fool play.

The copy of the MLBUM that I have says:

3.1 LINEUP CARDS
Each manager should write the name of each eligible player on the face of his club's batting order card in addition to furnishing the starting lineup. However, a manager's failure to list an eligible player does not prevent that player from entering the game, nor is such failure grounds for protest, as the listing of eligible players is simply a courtesy.

Gmoore Mon Jul 21, 2008 10:20pm

Two more questions
 
I have read thru the legion rule book that I have but cant seem to find the answers I am looking for:

1. If the umpire feels the batter made no effort in avoiding being hit is the pitch called on location as to where it is either a ball or a strike

2. Can a player coach be ejected after the game is over?

DG Mon Jul 21, 2008 11:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gmoore
I have read thru the legion rule book that I have but cant seem to find the answers I am looking for:

1. If the umpire feels the batter made no effort in avoiding being hit is the pitch called on location as to where it is either a ball or a strike

2. Can a player coach be ejected after the game is over?

Yes to both questions.

SAump Mon Jul 21, 2008 11:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gmoore
I have read thru the legion rule book that I have but cant seem to find the answers I am looking for:

1. If the umpire feels the batter made no effort in avoiding being hit is the pitch called on location as to where it is either a ball or a strike

2. Can a player coach be ejected after the game is over?

1. Award the base most of the time, even if it was a ball. Don't get into a habit of holding batters back on a hit-by-pitch even if the batter made no effort to move out of the way. If it was a strike, its okay to have him stay right there.
2. Ball game! You didn't see anything after the game was over. If you did see something of interest, notify the proper authorities. You are no longer the guy in charge.

BigUmp56 Tue Jul 22, 2008 12:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SAump
2. Ball game! You didn't see anything after the game was over. If you did see something of interest, notify the proper authorities. You are no longer the guy in charge.

I don't think so....................

Here's a hypothetical:

Losing teams assistant coach walks up to you and your partner as you're trying to exit the field after the game is over. He tells the both of you, "You're the worst f&*$%#in umpires I've ever seen. You gave us a real F$*&%#in out there tonight."

I can promise you that I would immediately issue a post game ejection for something like this.


Tim.

johnnyg08 Tue Jul 22, 2008 12:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigUmp56

I can promise you that I would immediately issue a post game ejection for something like this.

great, what's the rule??

Gmoore Tue Jul 22, 2008 08:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigUmp56
I don't think so....................

Here's a hypothetical:

Losing teams assistant coach walks up to you and your partner as you're trying to exit the field after the game is over. He tells the both of you, "You're the worst f&*$%#in umpires I've ever seen. You gave us a real F$*&%#in out there tonight."

I can promise you that I would immediately issue a post game ejection for something like this.


Tim.

Removing the F words this is kinda what happened I was not umpiring the game but the losing coach and plate umpire were not telling each other "good game" The coach later ask me if he could be ejected after the game, my reply was the umpire is in charge til he leaves the playing field I know that may be a NFHS rule, But i can not find that verbage in OBR or Legion Rules

There are different opinions here can anyone provide the "official" ruling?

DG Tue Jul 22, 2008 09:42pm

I hope you are not thinking about what rule to use use to toss when this happens. Take care of business before you leave, and then report per 9.05a and 9.05b and then league president is required to follow 9.05c and apply whatever penalites deem necessary. Often there is not a next game penalty anyway, so get your satisfaction before you leave.

johnnyg08 Wed Jul 23, 2008 08:12am

Right, so it's not a post game ejection...the penalty is applied by the league. It's probably more of a post game conduct report. Just saying.

Gmoore Wed Jul 23, 2008 09:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DG
I hope you are not thinking about what rule to use use to toss when this happens. Take care of business before you leave, and then report per 9.05a and 9.05b and then league president is required to follow 9.05c and apply whatever penalites deem necessary. Often there is not a next game penalty anyway, so get your satisfaction before you leave.


I am not looking for the rule to use I just want to know if you can eject a player or a coach after the 3rd out is made to end the game.

bob jenkins Wed Jul 23, 2008 10:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gmoore
I am not looking for the rule to use I just want to know if you can eject a player or a coach after the 3rd out is made to end the game.

It depends on the league.

You can always write a report. Some leagues, though, won't take much action on the report if there wasn't also an ejjection.

Rcichon Wed Jul 23, 2008 11:13am

Your
 
jurisdiction ends when you exit thru the fence. Until then, your authority is clear and what you see and/or hear is subject to what you see or hear...

;)

IMHO.

Then again, if you officiate shaving age softball in our town and later, a player comes up to you say, in a bar or shopping mall, engages you in argument or voices objection to a call you made in a previous game (or worse), that player has violated a M.A.S.A. rule and is subject to disciplinary action including disqualification.

FWIW

johnnyg08 Wed Jul 23, 2008 11:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rcichon
voices objection to a call you made in a previous game (or worse), that player has violated a M.A.S.A. rule and is subject to disciplinary action including disqualification.

FWIW

sadly enough, something probably happened to warrant this rule.

Gmoore Wed Jul 23, 2008 04:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SAump
But was the ejection warranted or was that other offer to join your partner for a free coke and a hotdog more important?

I had no dog in the fight, I was just ask the simple question by the coach if he could be ejected after the game had ended.

"The umpire shall immediately eject from the game any individuals violating this regulation"..... The game was over the 3rd out had been recorded, the teams had shook hands, on the way back to the dugout the coach asked the umpire a question about a call, the home plate umpire was still on the playing field observing the hand shake.

SanDiegoSteve Wed Jul 23, 2008 05:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gmoore
The game was over the 3rd out had been recorded, the teams had shook hands, on the way back to the dugout the coach asked the umpire a question about a call, the home plate umpire was still on the playing field observing the hand shake.

In my opinion, this is where the umpire went wrong. The last sentence should have read, "...the coach wanted to yell at the umpire about a call, but both umpires were already out the gate and on their way to the parking lot, so the coach had to go screw himself."

Or words to that effect.;)

johnnyg08 Wed Jul 23, 2008 09:49pm

my only issue with an umpire who thinks they can "eject" after a game is over...find an OBR rule that supports you. If there is a suspension involved, they will appeal your decision and you'll lose the appeal...as said before...the governing body can certainly suspend...but if there's no rule to support your ejection, you leave it all to the governing body. If it's that bad...challenge you association to not work one of the team's next games...home or away. just a thought.

Gmoore Thu Aug 07, 2008 09:00am

Sub question
 
Arlington Heights protested a ruling in their game against Edwardsville in the 7th inning of the first game of the Senior American Legion State Tournament played in Belleville at Whitey Herzog field. A. H.brought in a relief pitcher ; moved their starting pitcher to 1b.

The reliever was going in for the left fielder, with the first baseman going to left. According to Edwardsville's coach, the move was illegal since A.H. did not go directly to the H.P. umpire to inform him of the multiple position changes. Without a major league rule book at hand the three umpires agreed that the A.H move was illegal and removed the starting pitcher (now 1b) from the duration of the game. After A.H. lost the game 8-4 the rule book was consulted from other umpires who had arrived. No evidence could be found that A.H. had done anything wrong with their substitutions ; especially since it didn't involve a "double switch". The protest was upheld by the protest committee. The game will resume from the protested point with E-Ville batting , leading 4-2. Two on; one out.
Anybody out their who can find something in the Major League Rule Case Book on this particular situation?

L.A. Umpire Guy Thu Aug 07, 2008 09:15am

"Coming from a coach of your almost immeasurably low skill level, that hardly rates as even an insult."

This usually seems to work.

Gmoore Thu Aug 07, 2008 09:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by L.A. Umpire Guy
"Coming from a coach of your almost immeasurably low skill level, that hardly rates as even an insult."

This usually seems to work.


??????????

L.A. Umpire Guy Thu Aug 07, 2008 09:31am

When a coach has an opinion of our umpiring, he is virtually always an incompetent, loose-cannon redass. How could anything someone like that says have any real importance?

Rich Ives Thu Aug 07, 2008 10:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gmoore
Arlington Heights protested a ruling in their game against Edwardsville in the 7th inning of the first game of the Senior American Legion State Tournament played in Belleville at Whitey Herzog field. A. H.brought in a relief pitcher ; moved their starting pitcher to 1b.

The reliever was going in for the left fielder, with the first baseman going to left. According to Edwardsville's coach, the move was illegal since A.H. did not go directly to the H.P. umpire to inform him of the multiple position changes. Without a major league rule book at hand the three umpires agreed that the A.H move was illegal and removed the starting pitcher (now 1b) from the duration of the game. After A.H. lost the game 8-4 the rule book was consulted from other umpires who had arrived. No evidence could be found that A.H. had done anything wrong with their substitutions ; especially since it didn't involve a "double switch". The protest was upheld by the protest committee. The game will resume from the protested point with E-Ville batting , leading 4-2. Two on; one out.
Anybody out their who can find something in the Major League Rule Case Book on this particular situation?

You don't need a case book. Only one sub was made NewF1 for F7. BFD.

The "go to the umpire first" requirement only applies to double-switches - which involve substituting two or more players into the batting order. See 3.03.

You don't have to announce position changes. You can't find this in the rule book because it isn't a requirement. You can swap in-the-bating-order players around to different fielding positions all day and not announce anything. See 4.03(c).

Gmoore Thu Aug 07, 2008 11:56am

Thanks!!

cbfoulds Thu Aug 07, 2008 04:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gmoore
Arlington Heights protested a ruling in their game against Edwardsville in the 7th inning of the first game of the Senior American Legion State Tournament played in Belleville at Whitey Herzog field. A. H.brought in a relief pitcher ; moved their starting pitcher to 1b.

The reliever was going in for the left fielder, with the first baseman going to left. According to Edwardsville's coach, the move was illegal since A.H. did not go directly to the H.P. umpire to inform him of the multiple position changes. Without a major league rule book at hand the three umpires agreed that the A.H move was illegal and removed the starting pitcher (now 1b) from the duration of the game. After A.H. lost the game 8-4 the rule book was consulted from other umpires who had arrived. No evidence could be found that A.H. had done anything wrong with their substitutions ; especially since it didn't involve a "double switch". The protest was upheld by the protest committee. The game will resume from the protested point with E-Ville batting , leading 4-2. Two on; one out.
Anybody out their who can find something in the Major League Rule Case Book on this particular situation?

"Major League Rule Case Book": HUH?!?
We have available all kinds of references, Recognised Authority, and Authorised Interpretations; but "M.L.R.C.B." ain't one of them. The formal "casebook" of MLB is contained in and a part of the Rules.

There is also no rule AT ALL, at ANY level of baseball, that requires that the umpire(s) be informed of POSITION CHANGES - only changes in the batting order. One wonders how umpires this ignorant get hired/ assigned to "important" games. Upholding the protest was a no-brainer: I rejoice that they got it right.

rei Thu Aug 07, 2008 05:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SAump
1. Award the base most of the time, even if it was a ball. Don't get into a habit of holding batters back on a hit-by-pitch even if the batter made no effort to move out of the way.

Wham! Here we are, back 5 years on this rule. :mad:

SanDiegoSteve Thu Aug 07, 2008 05:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SAump
Came up in Astros vs Cubs game yesterday. Cubs won 11-4. Lou P stepped across the foul line on his way to the mound. Lou was near the mound when he turned to the HP umpire (perhaps Rappapanno?) to request a DS. The Astros manager stepped up to the foul line to oppose the idea. Lou P did not go straight to the umpire. The umpires met and UIC (U1) decided to allow the DS.

I was watching, and Piniella did not violate any rule, though the Astros manager was smart to question the move. Piniella went to the mound, asked his pitcher if he was done for the day, got a confirmation, then immediately turned to the PU (Marty Foster, BTW) and made the double switch. All the rule requires is that the umpire be informed of the batting order change before the player takes his position. Piniella did not make the call to the bullpen until he had reported the change to Foster. No rule violated.

Plus, it was only the first trip of the inning, so he did not have to remove the pitcher. The manager has to go to the umpire before making the change, not before he talks to his pitcher. If it had been the 2nd trip, Piniella would have gone straight to the umpire first.

SethPDX Thu Aug 07, 2008 05:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by cbfoulds
There is also no rule AT ALL, at ANY level of baseball, that requires that the umpire(s) be informed of POSITION CHANGES - only changes in the batting order.

Thank you! There are some scorekeepers I have run across who will disagree:rolleyes: . No sooner do I say who the sub is batting for than they ask, "where is he playing?" Drives me nuts.

rei Thu Aug 07, 2008 06:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SethPDX
Thank you! There are some scorekeepers I have run across who will disagree:rolleyes: . No sooner do I say who the sub is batting for than they ask, "where is he playing?" Drives me nuts.

Don't answer.

I usually just do the "wave and point into the field" thing for the sub.

UmpJM Thu Aug 07, 2008 09:00pm

Hmmm....

Just as a "point of fact", here is what the MLBUM has to say on the subject (of GMoore's "sub question" and ensuing discussion):

Quote:

When a manager makes two or more substitutions at the same time the manager must, at the same moment, advise the plate umpire of the names of the substitutes, their defensive positions, and in what place each will hit in the batting order. The manager cannot give notice of one of the substitutions, leave the umpire, come back to the plate umpire, and locate the other player in the lineup. In case the manager fails or refuses to make a decision, the plate umpire is authorized to decide the necessary batting order changes, and the umpire's decision is final. Just as soon as the substitutions are legal, announcements should be made over the public address system. (The PA. announcer should not make announcement of any substitution until so advised by the plate umpire.)

...

If a manager wishes to change pitchers along with one or more other defensive players (intending to interchange the batting order), the manager must inform the umpire before calling for the new pitcher. Motioning to the bullpen is to be considered an official substitution for the new pitcher.

There is no requirement that the manager or coach announce to the umpire a double-switch before crossing the foul line. However, the manager or coach must do so before signaling for a new pitcher, as his signal to the bullpen constitutes a substitution for the pitcher.

It is not permissible for the manager to go to the mound, call for a new pitcher, and then inform the umpire of multiple substitutions with the intention of interchanging the batting order. The plate umpire must be informed of the multiple substitutions before the manager calls for a new
pitcher (if the manager wishes to interchange the batting order).
So, as to GMoore's "sub question", I would go with what Rich Ives said. And, in regard to the DS in the Cubs game the other night, what SDSteve said.

In regard to the MLBUM mandate that the DM provide the umpire with the "defensive positions" of the entering players as well as their repsective positons in the batting lineup, I believe this is in place simply to unambiguously clarify whether the pitcher is being replaced, and , if so, by whom. To me, this requirement is implicit in the rules, because the pitcher (nor the catcher, for that matter) may NOT position himself anywhere he pleases prior to the ball being put in play. Plus, it's just kinda' practical, provides an opportunity to demonstrate you know what you're doing (if you do...), and helps preclude 3rd world situations.

I think the "sub question" would have been fun! But, then I know the "rule".

JM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1