The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Runner Question (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/45605-runner-question.html)

Rufus Wed Jun 18, 2008 01:56pm

Runner/Batter Question
 
This is from USSSA Rules (OBR):

8.07.H
If, with a runner on third (3rd) base and trying to score by means of a squeeze play or a steal, the catcher or any other fielder steps on, or in front of home base without possession of the ball, or touches the batter or his bat, the pitcher shall be charged with a balk, the batter shall be awarded first (1st) base on the interference and the ball is dead.


How often does this come up? How is a catcher supposed to field a squeeze bunt (not that they would - they're probably the only fielder who could receive a throw and attempt to tag R3 trying to score on a squeeze) if they can't cross or step in front of home? Are they supposed to just stay behind the plate?

Then there's this one from the other side of things (i.e., from the Batter's perspective):
8.06.I.3
A batter is out for illegal action when: He interferes with the catcher's fielding or throwing by stepping out of the batter's box or making any other movement that hinders the catcher's play at home base.


On a squeeze/steal home, then, should the batter just freeze in the batter's box? Wouldn't that impede the catcher making a play? Should the Batter back out of the box and risk interfering that way (i.e., making any other movement that hinders)?

Any help in understand the application of these rules would be appreciated.

PeteBooth Wed Jun 18, 2008 02:05pm

Quote:

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rufus
This is from USSSA Rules (OBR):

8.07.H
If, with a runner on third (3rd) base and trying to score by means of a squeeze play or a steal, the catcher or any other fielder steps on, or in front of home base without possession of the ball, or touches the batter or his bat, the pitcher shall be charged with a balk, the batter shall be awarded first (1st) base on the interference and the ball is dead.


How often does this come up? How is a catcher supposed to field a squeeze bunt (not that they would - they're probably the only fielder who could receive a throw and attempt to tag R3 trying to score on a squeeze) if they can't cross or step in front of home? Are they supposed to just stay behind the plate?

Any help in understand the application of this rule would be appreciated.


You are forgetting about the batter. The batter has the right to offer at any pitch he so chooses. If F2 steps in front of home plate then B1 is prevented from doing this.

Now if F1 disengaged properly then he is no longer classified as F1 but an infielder and now F2 may move up to receive the throw. If B1 attempts to hit the ball then it is the batter who will have interfered.

Pete Booth

UmpJM Wed Jun 18, 2008 02:06pm

Rufus,

In the last 183 games I have worked, I have seen this happen exactly once - so I would say it doesn't come up too often.

The rule only constrains the cathcer AFTER the batter had had the opportunity to offer at the pitch. If the batter bunts the ball into play, the catcher may go wherever he needs to in order to field the bunt.

JM

jdmara Wed Jun 18, 2008 02:11pm

I've seen this happen once as well. Any intelligent batter would swing/attempt to bunt the pitch if the catcher steps in front of the plate on a squeeze/steal. It doesn't happen very often though. I have seen a pitcher step off the rubber and throw home (as a fielder) and the batter hit the throw thinking it was a pitch. Gotta love baseball.

-Josh

Rufus Wed Jun 18, 2008 02:19pm

Thanks for the quick replies, I do appreciate them. At the risk of being too troublesome would you also take a look at the added question to the OP? I think, in researching prior posts, the answer is that the batter, whether or not they make contact, has an obligation to move out of the way (i.e., out of the batter's box and away from any current/potential play) but would appreciate confirmation.

Fritz Wed Jun 18, 2008 03:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rufus
Thanks for the quick replies, I do appreciate them. At the risk of being too troublesome would you also take a look at the added question to the OP? I think, in researching prior posts, the answer is that the batter, whether or not they make contact, has an obligation to move out of the way (i.e., out of the batter's box and away from any current/potential play) but would appreciate confirmation.

Like JM said, by definition and practice, the batter is going to square around on a squeeze so it is pretty easy to call it when the catcher interferes with the batter's opportunity at that point.

Re your second question, it is my understanding the batter is protected as long as he remains in the box and doesn't INTENTIONALLY do anything to interfere with the play. You see this on steals to 3rd and a RH batter all the time. But, if the batter does have time to get out of the way on a play, like on a passed ball, then he should.

MrUmpire Wed Jun 18, 2008 04:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fritz
Re your second question, it is my understanding the batter is protected as long as he remains in the box and doesn't INTENTIONALLY do anything to interfere with the play. .

The actual rule:

6.06 A batter is out for illegal action when-

(c) He interferes with the catcher’s fielding or throwing by stepping out of the batter’s box or making any other movement that hinders the catcher’s play at home base.

____________

Notice the lack of the word "intentional."

Rich Ives Wed Jun 18, 2008 05:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MrUmpire
The actual rule:

6.06 A batter is out for illegal action when-

(c) He interferes with the catcher’s fielding or throwing by stepping out of the batter’s box or making any other movement that hinders the catcher’s play at home base.

____________

Notice the lack of the word "intentional."


Keep in mind that we don't want the catcher just plunking the batter to get an interference call.

MLBUM 6.10

If the batter interferes with the catcher's throw to retire a runner by stepping out of the batter's box, interference shall be called on the batter under Official Baseball Rule 6.06(c). (See Section 6.8.)

However, if the batter is standing in the batter's box and he or his bat is struck by the catcher's throw back to the pitcher (or throw in attempting to retire a runner) and, in the umpire's judgment, there is no intent on the part of the batter to interfere with the throw, the ball is alive and in play.

MrUmpire Wed Jun 18, 2008 05:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives
Keep in mind that we don't want the catcher just plunking the batter to get an interference call.

MLBUM 6.10

If the batter interferes with the catcher's throw to retire a runner by stepping out of the batter's box, interference shall be called on the batter under Official Baseball Rule 6.06(c). (See Section 6.8.)

However, if the batter is standing in the batter's box and he or his bat is struck by the catcher's throw back to the pitcher (or throw in attempting to retire a runner) and, in the umpire's judgment, there is no intent on the part of the batter to interfere with the throw, the ball is alive and in play.

You are referring to a different situation in which the batter "is standing in the batter's box", while I, on the underhand, addressed the comment made by the previous poster: "as long as he remains in the box and doesn't INTENTIONALLY do anything to interfere."

The poster to whom I was addressing implied action by the batter, in which case, "intent" is not a factor.

Rich Ives Wed Jun 18, 2008 11:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MrUmpire
You are referring to a different situation in which the batter "is standing in the batter's box", while I, on the underhand, addressed the comment made by the previous poster: "as long as he remains in the box and doesn't INTENTIONALLY do anything to interfere."

The poster to whom I was addressing implied action by the batter, in which case, "intent" is not a factor.


You quoted 6.06(c) and said intent isn't mentioned.

I posted the MLBUM interpretation concerning 6.06(c) which says intent IS a factor.

And you claim it isn't relevant?

aceholleran Wed Jun 18, 2008 11:45pm

The CS&FP rule book has the batter getting out of Dodge on a play at the plate.

I had a textbook 6.06(c) in LL once. R2 stealing 3B, F2 flubs the pitch, and B1, fleeing the batter's box, accidentally kicked the pitch away.

Ace

MrUmpire Thu Jun 19, 2008 12:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives
You quoted 6.06(c) and said intent isn't mentioned.

I posted the MLBUM interpretation concerning 6.06(c) which says intent IS a factor.

And you claim it isn't relevant?

I addressed a specific comment in a specific post. That comment regarded intent whie taking action, which is a consideration in neither the rule, nor the MLBUM. Your post, addressing nothing that either the OP posted or anything I posted, is indeed irrelevant.

I know some posters here like to respond to a specific question or statement and then add, "but in a different scenario, here's another answer." I am not one of those. My replies are fairly well focused on the scenarios provided.

SanDiegoSteve Thu Jun 19, 2008 04:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpJM (nee CoachJM)
In the last 183 games I have worked, I have seen this happen exactly once - so I would say it doesn't come up too often.

John,

I know you haven't been umpJM for too long. Are the last 183 games you worked also the first 183 games you worked?;)

bob jenkins Thu Jun 19, 2008 07:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rufus
This is from USSSA Rules (OBR):

8.07.H
If, with a runner on third (3rd) base and trying to score by means of a squeeze play or a steal, the catcher or any other fielder steps on, or in front of home base without possession of the ball, or touches the batter or his bat, the pitcher shall be charged with a balk, the batter shall be awarded first (1st) base on the interference and the ball is dead.


How often does this come up? How is a catcher supposed to field a squeeze bunt (not that they would - they're probably the only fielder who could receive a throw and attempt to tag R3 trying to score on a squeeze) if they can't cross or step in front of home? Are they supposed to just stay behind the plate?

The rule is referring to the catcher interfering with the batter's ability to hit / bunt the pitch. That is, "If the catcher jumps in front of the plate and catches the pitch before it reaches the batter, .... award" Once the ball is bunted, this rule doesn't apply.

Quote:

Then there's this one from the other side of things (i.e., from the Batter's perspective):
8.06.I.3
A batter is out for illegal action when: He interferes with the catcher's fielding or throwing by stepping out of the batter's box or making any other movement that hinders the catcher's play at home base.


On a squeeze/steal home, then, should the batter just freeze in the batter's box? Wouldn't that impede the catcher making a play? Should the Batter back out of the box and risk interfering that way (i.e., making any other movement that hinders)?

Any help in understand the application of these rules would be appreciated.
Again, this is referring to the BATTER, not the BATTER-RUNNER. So, in the squeeze situation, it implies that the batter missed the ball. The batter can then "act like a batter" (think of the many "missed" sacrifice bunts -- what does the batter do?), but any other movement would make him liable for interference.

Rufus Thu Jun 19, 2008 08:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Again, this is referring to the BATTER, not the BATTER-RUNNER. So, in the squeeze situation, it implies that the batter missed the ball. The batter can then "act like a batter" (think of the many "missed" sacrifice bunts -- what does the batter do?), but any other movement would make him liable for interference.

Bob - thanks, this is exactly what I was trying to get at. How, specifically, would a batter "act like a batter" after missing a squeeze bunt, with R3 coming to home, and not interfere with the catcher? Does that mean back out of the way, remain in the box, etc.? If the answer is that it's up to the PU's discretion/judgement as to what is/isn't interference that's fine, but I would like to know what is typically considered to be a non-interference action by the batter.

Please understand my desire here is to better understand the rule in order to instruct players (yes, I'm one of those evil coaches). I'm not going to trot this post thread out during a game (i.e., my intent is to better understand the game and its rules, not get "ammo" for some future argument).

Thanks again for all your comments, they are appreciated.

jdmara Thu Jun 19, 2008 09:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rufus
Bob - thanks, this is exactly what I was trying to get at. How, specifically, would a batter "act like a batter" after missing a squeeze bunt, with R3 coming to home, and not interfere with the catcher? Does that mean back out of the way, remain in the box, etc.? If the answer is that it's up to the PU's discretion/judgement as to what is/isn't interference that's fine, but I would like to know what is typically considered to be a non-interference action by the batter.

Please understand my desire here is to better understand the rule in order to instruct players (yes, I'm one of those evil coaches). I'm not going to trot this post thread out during a game (i.e., my intent is to better understand the game and its rules, not get "ammo" for some future argument).

Thanks again for all your comments, they are appreciated.

It is up to the umpire's judgment in the end. After the batter has had an opportunity to offer at the pitch, he has the obligation to vacate the area so he does not interfere. It's really a "had to be there" play.

As a coach, I would just coach all my kids to batter left handed and then you don't have to worry as much about this situation :rolleyes: Maybe I'm of that opinion because I bat left handed.:cool:

In all seriousness, this is a tricky play. The batter has to be aware of the location of the ball at all times and avoid the interference. Staying in the box does not absolve him from interference. If it's a loose ball that parks itself in line with the plate and the batter, it's going to be a tough situation for all parties involved.

There may be an instance when it is not feasible for your batter to move as well. If the pitcher is in the windup, the runner from third takes off at first movement, and he has decent speed, he may be right on top of the plate when the ball arrives. In that case, the batter won't have the opportunity to vacate.

The key is that your batters always know where the ball is and move accordingly (if they have the opportunity/time to vacate).

Just my two cents

-Josh

PeteBooth Thu Jun 19, 2008 09:57am

[QUOTE]
Quote:

Originally Posted by Rufus
Bob - thanks, this is exactly what I was trying to get at. How, specifically, would a batter "act like a batter" after missing a squeeze bunt, with R3 coming to home, and not interfere with the catcher? Does that mean back out of the way, remain in the box, etc.? If the answer is that it's up to the PU's discretion/judgement as to what is/isn't interference that's fine, but I would like to know what is typically considered to be a non-interference action by the batter.

R3 coming home on a squeeze and B1 bunting all happen in a heartbeat.

You cannot expect the batter to simply vanish from the plate area. On a squeeze play after the batter trys to bunt the ball and misses it, the runner for the most part is almost at home plate already so unless the batter does something "extra" it's a difficult call to rule BI.

The bottom line is: Umpire Judgement. That's why they pay us the "big bucks"

Pete Booth

jdmara Thu Jun 19, 2008 11:22am

[QUOTE=PeteBooth]
Quote:

The bottom line is: Umpire Judgement. That's why they pay us the "big bucks"
I think you mistakenly added an 's' on the end of your statement. Didn't you mean "big buck" :confused:

-Josh

Fritz Thu Jun 19, 2008 02:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MrUmpire
I addressed a specific comment in a specific post. That comment regarded intent whie taking action, which is a consideration in neither the rule, nor the MLBUM. Your post, addressing nothing that either the OP posted or anything I posted, is indeed irrelevant.

I know some posters here like to respond to a specific question or statement and then add, "but in a different scenario, here's another answer." I am not one of those. My replies are fairly well focused on the scenarios provided.

Actually MrU, that is what I was implying and apologize if I didn't make myself clear. My statement was meant to say that a batter remaining in the batter's box isn't given carte blanche do anything he wants and still not be guilty of interference. If he displays an intent to interfere while remaining in the box, then I will call it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1