The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Clarification on Appeal Play (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/45206-clarification-appeal-play.html)

matstars Fri Jun 06, 2008 03:43pm

Clarification on Appeal Play
 
Situation:

A homerun is hit.

Batter rounds the bases.

Before the next play begins - with the ball in play - the pitcher throws the ball as an appeal to third saying that he did not touch third on the home run. Umpire says "No, he touched third, but he didn't touch second" Pitcher - after receiving the ball - whilst still in play throws the ball to second.

The umpire says "Only one appeal is allowed" is this the right ruling? I was under the impression that you can appeal to any base any time so long as the ball is "in play."

socalblue1 Fri Jun 06, 2008 04:06pm

Stupid umpire?

Yes, the defense may make a proper appeal on a runner one time at each base.

matstars Fri Jun 06, 2008 04:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by socalblue1
Stupid umpire?

Yes, the defense may make a proper appeal on a runner one time at each base.

This is two different bases.

Welpe Fri Jun 06, 2008 04:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by matstars
This is two different bases.

As he said, the defense may make an appeal on each runner once at each base.

Not only did the umpire blow the appeal procedure, he also gave them too much information!

ozzy6900 Fri Jun 06, 2008 06:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by matstars
Situation:
..... Umpire says "No, he touched third, but he didn't touch second"....

Dumb a$$!!

Quote:

Originally Posted by matstars
The umpire says "Only one appeal is allowed"....

Now he's a real dumb a$$!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1