The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   6.05h - wrong interpretation ? (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/45082-6-05h-wrong-interpretation.html)

_Bruno_ Tue Jun 03, 2008 03:17pm

6.05h - wrong interpretation ?
 
6.05 A batter is out when—
(h) After hitting or bunting a fair ball, his bat hits the ball a second time in fair territory.

sac bunt situation. the batter bunts the ball on home plate and the ball immediatly pops back up against his bat. the 2nd contact was over fair territory. is the batter out or is this just a foul ball ? (batter was still in the battes box).

i saw this on tv and the umps called it foul.
J/R says its a foul ball.
is there anything in the rulebook (OBR) that proves, that this is a foul ball and not an out ?

UmpJM Tue Jun 03, 2008 03:22pm

Bruno,

This is properly ruled a foul ball. You will find nothing in the text of the OBR rules that says so, but ALL interpretations manuals agree that "foul" is the proper ruling.

JM

Rich Ives Tue Jun 03, 2008 03:42pm

What to tell the non-believers: "The bat didn't hit the ball, the ball hit the bat."

SanDiegoSteve Tue Jun 03, 2008 04:53pm

The ball hit the bat through no action on the part of the batter, so he is not penalized. The rule does not provide for a ball hitting a bat. Had the batter dropped the bat and hit the ball with it, then 6.05(h) is enforced. The bat then would have hit the ball, as is stated in the rule.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1