Pete in AZ |
Thu Jun 05, 2008 04:58am |
Quote:
Originally Posted by crewumpires
IHSA rule set.
One out runner on first. Dropped third on Batter. R1 was stealing on pitch but had not reached 2nd at time of pitch.
I called batter out and left R1 on second. Can't find clarification in rules directly but I judged first base occupied until R1 successfully reached second base. I based this from the time of pitch.
Argument from coach was 1st was unoccupied since R1 was stealing.. and his batter should have been able to attempt 1st on DTS.
What say you?
|
Okay, it's early and I have a newborn in the house so here I am. I had to read this one a few times to make sense of what you are saying.
We've got a runner on first and the batter is called out on pitches with one away, right? Why did you leave him on 2nd again? Because a dropped third pitch is still live for other offensive players. The defensive team made a mistake and they pay the price. You don't have to judge first base occupied or unoccupied in this sitch. The ball is live and he can run if he wants. Two outs and man on second. Play ball!
|