The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 19, 2008, 01:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,240
Specific FED case / interp on this: Call one runner out for passing the other. Call another runner out fro running the bases in reverse. Eject the coach for unsporting behavior.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 19, 2008, 02:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,230
Crafty? I consider legally using the rules for your advantage as crafty (IE a coach knowingly letting an improper batter to reach base instead of while he is still at bat). Plain old cheating is ridiculous, teaches bad things to the players and promotes horrible sportsmanship.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Specific FED case / interp on this: Call one runner out for passing the other. Call another runner out fro running the bases in reverse. Eject the coach for unsporting behavior.
Can't argue with the official interpretation

-Josh
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 19, 2008, 03:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 336
Bob J nailed it...at least 2 outs, and the coach is gone.....
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 20, 2008, 11:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 543
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmara
Crafty? I consider legally using the rules for your advantage as crafty (IE a coach knowingly letting an improper batter to reach base instead of while he is still at bat).
I would say a craftier move would be with R2 and R3 and an intentional walk situation, manager brings up his top slugger to take 3 balls towards an intentional walk, then bring up the proper batter to assume a 3-0 count.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 21, 2008, 12:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by canadaump6
I would say a craftier move would be with R2 and R3 and an intentional walk situation, manager brings up his top slugger to take 3 balls towards an intentional walk, then bring up the proper batter to assume a 3-0 count.
Not that crafty. The opposing coaching staff would need to be asleep to miss it. And if they're not asleep, then simply pitch it down the pipe. Appeal the BOO if the batter bites, and if he doesn't, you get a strike or two before they put the proper batter in.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 21, 2008, 12:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 1,428
Quote:
Originally Posted by celebur
Not that crafty. The opposing coaching staff would need to be asleep to miss it. And if they're not asleep, then simply pitch it down the pipe. Appeal the BOO if the batter bites, and if he doesn't, you get a strike or two before they put the proper batter in.
I like that. Throw it in underhand.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 25, 2008, 08:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 105
In ASA softball, each runner who occupies a base other than their original base after the TO shall be declared out and the coach/manager ejected.

If there were 3 runners on the basepaths and all 3 of them switched bases....
you'd have 3 outs!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 26, 2008, 06:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by NYBLUE
In ASA softball, each runner who occupies a base other than their original base after the TO shall be declared out and the coach/manager ejected.

If there were 3 runners on the basepaths and all 3 of them switched bases....
you'd have 3 outs!
Relevance?
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 26, 2008, 06:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 58
Bob would only be right if the league was using Fed rules. You can't cite that book in other leagues without getting laughed at.

Once the ball is in play, you need an appeal to apply anything. I once saw a coach switch batters while the defensive team was busy taking care of kids who was injured while chasing a fall fly ball. I was at 3 away from the injury and saw the HC call the batter over and sub another while the new pitcher warmed up and the injured kids were tended to. My partners didn't even catch it until the half inning was up.
__________________
"Victory goes to the player who makes the next-to-last mistake."
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 26, 2008, 06:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Bend, In.
Posts: 2,192
Send a message via AIM to BigUmp56 Send a message via Yahoo to BigUmp56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete in AZ
Bob would only be right if the league was using Fed rules. You can't cite that book in other leagues without getting laughed at.

Once the ball is in play, you need an appeal to apply anything.
If you're looking for an OBR citation that says a runner passing a proceeding runner has to be appealed for an out to be called I suggest not spending too much time looking because it's not there..........


Tim.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Q from a 1st year: Crafty inbounds play. ca_rumperee Basketball 17 Mon Dec 31, 2007 05:45pm
Accused of cheating ?? MidMadness Basketball 20 Thu Aug 31, 2006 06:18pm
Coach Caught Cheating stripes Basketball 1 Wed Nov 30, 2005 01:26pm
Cheating pitcher Dakota Softball 4 Sun Jul 07, 2002 02:33pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1