![]() |
Ball hits runner after hitting base
Wed night in MIL this almost happened:
Runner on 1B and batter hit sharp grounder up the middle. Ball hits 2B bag and caroms sharply hitting the runner moving towards 2B. Under MLB rules, I would assume runner is out and batter awarded 1B as ball never passed an infielder. |
Good assumption. There's no excpetion in the rule for a ball deflecting off of a base (or a rock, or a divot, or the edge of the grass, or the lip of the infield, ...)
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45am. |