![]() |
appeal after "ballgame"
bases loaded, 2 outs, tie ballgame.
the pitcher walks in the game winning run. after R3 touches home and BR touching 1stbase, the defense wants to appeal that the BR was the improper batter. must all defensive players and offensive players go back to their position, to allow the appeal ? or can you play something like a "dead ball appeal" in this situation ? |
Bruno,
It is perfectly proper for the defense to make a BOOT appeal while the ball is not in play. Appeals of baserunning infractions are a different animal (except under FED, of course). JM |
Quote:
|
Quote:
John |
However, the inning is over once the defense leaves the field.
|
Quote:
6.07 (b) When an improper batter becomes a runner or is put out, and the defensive team appeals to the umpire before the first pitch to the next batter of either team, or before any play or attempted play, . . . |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Sitch: r2/r3 Improper batter singles and scores r2/r3. Time has been called and the manager wants to appeal BOO 7.10 requires the fielder to touch the runner or base. In the BOO situation I presented, there is NOTHING to touch so a BOO infraction even though it's an appeal is NOT governed by rule 7.10 The OBR rule-book could have done a better job in explaining this but they didn't. There should have been an addendum at the end of 6.07 about the status of the ball but there is not. Pete Booth |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04pm. |