The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   NCAA Play (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/44266-ncaa-play.html)

Texas Aggie Sat May 10, 2008 12:11am

NCAA Play
 
This happened in the Friday Texas A&M/Nebraska game: Runner on 1, either 0 or 1 out, pitch ruled a strike 3 to the batter. Runner stealing second and PU ruled batter interference with the catcher on the throw. I did a quick glance of the rules (I work football and hoops) and it appears there are certain situations where the runner is sent back to first and others where he is called out -- especially on a strikeout.

They sent him back to first and the coach filed a protest. I'm wondering when is what they did proper and when should they have called him out? Choppy video feed so I couldn't tell what happened with the batter or where he was.

dash_riprock Sat May 10, 2008 06:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Texas Aggie
This happened in the Friday Texas A&M/Nebraska game: Runner on 1, either 0 or 1 out, pitch ruled a strike 3 to the batter. Runner stealing second and PU ruled batter interference with the catcher on the throw. I did a quick glance of the rules (I work football and hoops) and it appears there are certain situations where the runner is sent back to first and others where he is called out -- especially on a strikeout.

They sent him back to first and the coach filed a protest. I'm wondering when is what they did proper and when should they have called him out? Choppy video feed so I couldn't tell what happened with the batter or where he was.

I think he wins the protest. That should have been 2.

aceholleran Sat May 10, 2008 07:02am

Does NCAA allow for "soft interference" by F2--on batter's backswing?

Ace in CT

mbyron Sat May 10, 2008 07:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by aceholleran
Does NCAA allow for "soft interference" by F2--on batter's backswing?

Ace in CT

Yes. Usually called "weak" or "backswing" interference; of the 3 main codes, only FED lacks this provision.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BRD (270)
If a batter's follow-through hits the catcher "as the pitch is caught," it is a strike, the ball is dead, and no runners advance. It is not interference. (6-2d) If the batter's follow-through accidentally hits the catcher "while the catcher is in the act of throwing," it is a strike (but not interference) and the ball is dead unless the catcher's throw retires a runner. (6-2d-2) On a third strike, the ball is dead; the batter is out. (6-2d-1)

From this it seems that if the backswing hits the catcher "while in the act of throwing" R1 either goes back or is out. Interesting wrinkle.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1