![]() |
Coach yells, "That's a Balk!"
Sorry if this is a repeat........
Fed: In the middle of a legal third - to - first pick off move, the first base coach yells, "That's a Balk!"........and the pitcher then pulls up and looks quizically at the Field Ump. Got anything here? |
Quote:
|
Warn the coach that he may not yell at the opposing players. If you wish, you can add that you'd be happy to discuss balk calls/non-calls with him privately.
If a coach yelled something that caused a balk (unlike your sitch), I would not enforce the balk. If he does it again, restrict him to the dugout. If he does it a third time, buh-bye. |
Quote:
Therefore, according to rule if the Coach IN FACT caused F1 to balk he is ejected. Pete Booth |
Quote:
Wipe off the balk, eject the coach. When the head coach complains: Hey, my hands are tied, it's the rule. :D |
Quote:
|
Quote:
However, the coach still needs to go or needs to understand that if this happens again, he's getting the hook. I killed a balk the other day cause some moron next to the dugout screamed out "That's a balk" and caused the pitcher to stop. For a split second, I thought it came from the dugout, but I quickly realized that wasn't possible. Just CS/FP to not allow something like this to happen, IMO. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
After I had umped a few years and had a decent knowledge of the rulebook. I went through a short phase where I was calling every little thing: Batter out of box, balks galore, INT, OBS, you name it. A veteran official in my area sat me down during that time and gave me a short lecture. After complimenting my basic skills he said, "Don't look for trouble." Amen. Ace in CT |
Thanks for the input and advice. My concern is that the Coach's yelling caused my pitcher to stop the play.
So should I instruct my pitchers to finish the play, finish the pitch, despite hearing an adult out of the pitcher's field of view yell "That's a Balk!" ? Let's hope everyone else - especially the batter - also stays alert and ready for the play/pitch to occur after such yelling! |
Quote:
|
OK, let's expand the sitch. What if the incorrect batter had hit into a double play, and then it was detected? NOW how many outs would you have?
JJ |
Quote:
|
Quote:
In any event, the outs made on the play stand in FED, but the enire play is negated in OBR. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51am. |