The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Legal catch over fence? (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/43946-legal-catch-over-fence.html)

rbmartin Tue Apr 29, 2008 12:05pm

Legal catch over fence?
 
I saw a highlight from a recent college game where an outfielder leaps to rob the batter of a home run and goes completely over the outfield fence during the process of making the catch. Is this a legal catch? I thought the player must remain or "land back" in play for the catch to be legal.
I am not an umpire so please forgive me if this question sounds stupid.

TwoBits Tue Apr 29, 2008 12:09pm

The catch is legal and the batter is out. They've been playing the highlight all weekend on "Sportscenter".

ctblu40 Tue Apr 29, 2008 12:36pm

Some New England umpires might reconize this as our own Quinnipiac University!

tibear Tue Apr 29, 2008 01:08pm

As long as the outfield didn't have a foot touch the ground in the dead ball territory and at least one foot over the playing field when the ball was caught it is a legal catch.

tw1ns Tue Apr 29, 2008 01:34pm

correct me if I am wrong....which has been known to happen...
if the fielder carries the ball into dead ball area, assuming there are baserunners aren't they awarded a base?

rbmartin Tue Apr 29, 2008 05:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tibear
As long as the outfield didn't have a foot touch the ground in the dead ball territory and at least one foot over the playing field when the ball was caught it is a legal catch.


So if he would have contacted the ground in dead ball territory before making the catch it would have been ruled a home run?

bob jenkins Tue Apr 29, 2008 06:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbmartin
So if he would have contacted the ground in dead ball territory before making the catch it would have been ruled a home run?

Yes, in NCAA and (I think) OBR

tibear Tue Apr 29, 2008 08:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rbmartin
So if he would have contacted the ground in dead ball territory before making the catch it would have been ruled a home run?

Yes it would be a home run. It is the same rule as any other DBT line. i.e. foul line

mbyron Wed Apr 30, 2008 07:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tibear
Yes it would be a home run. It is the same rule as any other DBT line. i.e. foul line

The foul line does not mark DBT.

tibear Wed Apr 30, 2008 01:27pm

Thanks mb, of course you're right. Brain fart!!!!

bossman72 Wed Apr 30, 2008 08:12pm

If his leap originates from LBT and he doesn't physically touch DBT before making the catch, then it is a good catch.

If there were runners on base (less than 2 out), they would be awarded one base.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1