The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Quick 3-man question (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/43855-quick-3-man-question.html)

ManInBlue Sat Apr 26, 2008 01:47pm

Quick 3-man question
 
3-man, bases loaded. What's the proper positioning for U1 & U3? Is U1 in the infield or is U3?

I've had a couple of playoff games where what we did, although it worked, just didn't seem like it was the prescribed method.

JRutledge Sat Apr 26, 2008 02:00pm

U3 (Third base umpire) in the C position.

U2 (first base umpire) in the A position.

This might vary based on your local philosophies which sometimes have the two base umpires flip flop in some situations.

Peace

aceholleran Sat Apr 26, 2008 03:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ManInBlue
3-man, bases loaded. What's the proper positioning for U1 & U3? Is U1 in the infield or is U3?

I've had a couple of playoff games where what we did, although it worked, just didn't seem like it was the prescribed method.

In every 3-ump I've done, U1 stays in A if 1B is occupied. Local team here is in a league (independent minor leagues) where they do it this way too.

thumpferee Sat Apr 26, 2008 04:23pm

The way we do it, and the way I remember is the only time U1 is inside is with a runner on 2nd, or 2nd and 3rd with less than 2 outs.

ManInBlue Sat Apr 26, 2008 10:28pm

any R1=U1 on the line is how I thought it was. And that's how I did it tonight as crew chief. The other two games this week we put U3 on the line with the bases loaded. It worked, and I didn't want to argue the point (not that important) but I thought it was backwards.

Thanks guys.

socalblue1 Sun Apr 27, 2008 12:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ManInBlue
any R1=U1 on the line is how I thought it was. And that's how I did it tonight as crew chief. The other two games this week we put U3 on the line with the bases loaded. It worked, and I didn't want to argue the point (not that important) but I thought it was backwards.

Thanks guys.

Any you have R1 the 1B umpire is in short A, period.

bob jenkins Sun Apr 27, 2008 07:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by socalblue1
Any you have R1 the 1B umpire is in short A, period.

This year's CCA provides an option to have U1 on the inside with R1 and R2 in an "obvious bunt situation"

Cub42 Sun Apr 27, 2008 07:45pm

I always have the first base umpire in A with bases loaded. As stated before, the U2 is always in A when you have a runner on first.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1