![]() |
Blocking of the base question
I see this many times on pick-off attempts and want to make sure I'm thinking right about this.
I have been told, perhaps incorrectly, that the runner must be allowed access to the base when diving back into it. Many times the fielder will plant his foot along the inside of the base and the diving fielder has little base area to touch, many times ending up touching the fielder's foot, not the base on the throw. Should this be treated as obstruction? If so, would an extra base be given as a penalty or only allow the safety back to base he dives back to? |
Quote:
If he has possession, then he can block access all he wants. If he does not, then in OBR & NCAA, you would award the runner the base that he was returning to. In FED, you would award the next base. So a blocked pick-off at 1st without the ball: |
Quote:
In FED, F3 can block the base without the ball, he just can't block it completely. 8.3.2 Situation G |
Quote:
Regards |
Think of "access" this way:
1. The runner must be able to reach the base. A quarter inch will not be enough, but it is possible to block part of the base and still allow access. Umpire judgment will be required. 2. The access allowed does NOT have to be the runner's "preferred" access: if the fielder allows access, and the runner ends up touching only shoe, I'm calling the out not OBS. |
Quote:
In OBR, the fielder can block the base if the play is imminent. So, there's no obstruction and no award. In NCAA, the award is the next base. The FED part of the above is true if the fielder is "denying access" to the base, not mereely blocking the part the runner wants to go to. (Yes, it's a strange rule) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Thanks Ozzy. I certainly see your point on splitting hairs. It looks like Bob took it the same way I did. Either way, thanks for heads up.
|
If you have obstruction on F3 on a runner attempting to get back to first, you award the runner second base.
|
Quote:
So, we do NOT need to read the runner's mind. We need to judge whether the fielder (completely, and without the ball) denied access to the base. If so, then OBS no matter where the runner was trying to go; if not, then no OBS, no matter where the runner was trying to go. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12am. |