The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 24, 2008, 07:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by dash_riprock
Rich Ives: Can you enlighten me as to the Eddings play? Maybe I need to make a change. Thanks.
I'm not Rich, but here's the play. World Series (game 6?) A J Pierzinski at bat (I'm sure I misspelled that) with 2 strikes and 2 outs. Pitch near the dirt, batter swings. F2 thinks he caught it and rolls the ball to the mound. BR takes off thinking F2 didn't catch it. Doug Eddings, PU, says nothing and watches all of this transpire.

With BR standing on 1B, the umpires huddle, determine no catch, and leave BR on 1B. Next batter doubles, runner scores, White Sox win, go on to win the Series. One umpire's call turned the tide (or so many Cardinals fans will tell you).

One more thing: Eddings signaled the swing (hand straight out) AND the out (hammer). That didn't seem to matter.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strike three in the dirt ruling? voiceoflg Baseball 13 Fri Apr 20, 2007 12:50pm
Dropped 3 Strike on pitch in dirt Mista Bone Baseball 13 Mon Jun 27, 2005 01:10pm
Can a ball in the dirt be a strike? WestMichBlue Softball 23 Thu Aug 07, 2003 09:54pm
dirt robert Baseball 5 Fri Aug 02, 2002 08:43am
Strike 3 in dirt Robert G Baseball 6 Wed Jul 18, 2001 05:27am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1