The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   advice (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/4043-advice.html)

ref5678 Thu Feb 07, 2002 10:53pm

My name is Dylan Ferguson I'm 14 years old and a pretty good umpire. But I'm only starting out so i was wondering if any of you more experienced umpires had any tips, advice, or information you could pass along to a new umpire.

Dakota Fri Feb 08, 2002 11:54am

Get an experienced umpire to "mentor" you (call games with you and criticize your performance).
Read the rule book.
Study the rule book.
Read it again.
Get a case book for the level of ball you are calling.
Study the case book.
Practice your mechanics.
Attend an umpire school.

Visit the web site below...

http://www.amateurumpire.com/others/index.htm

JJ Fri Feb 08, 2002 10:22pm

Read your umpires manuals. Go to games and watch experienced umpires work. Then corner them after the game and ask them to explain why they did the things they did if you didn't understand, and ask them for tips. Then go back and re-read your umpires manuals. Then repeat.

bluezebra Sun Feb 10, 2002 12:58am

Study and learn the definitions. If you understand the definitions, it will help you understand the other rules.

Welcome to the family, and GOOD LUCK.

And, NEVER takea coach's or manager's word on a ruling.

Bob

kman Sun Feb 10, 2002 03:59am

have fun

I've only been an ump for two years and it is one of the best things i've ever done. I think you have to find what works for you and what doesnt so ill keep it simple:

1. have fun

I hope you find it very rewarding and you have a lot of success. Its awesome.

ref5678 Mon Feb 11, 2002 06:08pm

thanks for the response guys. and i was wondering if any of you new of any umpire schools/clincs that would take a 14 year old ump

PeteBooth Tue Feb 12, 2002 08:40am

<i> Originally posted by ref5678 </i>