![]() |
Batter Interference
I was watchin this happen at a game last night and I was wondeing weather or not the ruling was right cause I would have called it differently with the understanding that I have of the rules.
Play: R1, 0 out... Batter interferes with a throw to second where r1 was attempting a steal. Question: is the runner out or is the batter out and the runner goes back to second? Thanks |
Quote:
|
Assuming that the batter really did interfere and that the throw did not retire the runner, the batter is out and the runner returns.
If the throw retires the runner, the out stands and the batter remains at the plate. BI is not an immediate dead-ball situation. To judge whether the batter really did interfere, you'd have to provide more info. |
there appears to be enough info here for me to answer your question. you were not asking whether or not there was interference, but rather what happens after the interference happened, correct?
with less than 2 out (which is what you stated in the original post) if the catcher's first throw does not retire the runner, then the batter is out and the runner returns to first. what you did fail to metion was the count. if the pitch to the batter was strike 3 and the catcher's first throw did not retire the runner, then the batter would be out on strikes, and the runner would be out for the batter's interference. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
it means first throw. if the first throw does not retire the runner, the ball is dead and the interference enforced. it disallows rundowns and the like. and, seeing as it appeared in my post, i would venture a guess that i give my catchers, say, one throw?
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37am. |