![]() |
Infield Fly
This was a Superseries tournament, U9.
1 out. R1 and R2. BR pops up. Umpires points straight up indicating infield fly. R2 leaves 2nd and trips the shortstop, the privileged fielder, on his way to third base. The play continues and R2 is tagged out at 3rd base. What's the call? The call on the field: the infield fly was enforced, BR out. R2 was called out on the tag. What about the interference? The debate is whether interference should have been called on R2. Some umpires believe only one out BR. R2 should have been returned to 2nd base. :cool: |
Quote:
|
BR is out, R2 is out on the interfeance. You don't need the 4th out because nobody scored
|
F6 priveleged because he is trying to catch the ball?
If not then why is he priveleged? What if F6 is just standing between 2 & 3? He has an obligation to not obstruct R2 unless he is making a play. Or I just missed something which I'm sure someone will catch...;) ....>>edited after BigUmp<<.... If F6 is fielding, then Steve has it: INT on R2, third out. |
Quote:
It sounds to me like F6 was the priveledged fielder on the pop-up. Someone on the infield has to receive priveledged status. Tim. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
"A fielder is privileged if he is trying to field a batted ball, and he is given priority to field it, and he is not chasing a deflected or missed fielding try." "Protected," is the same thing. I believe they used, "privilege," for a fielder, and, "protected," for an obstructed runner. It's a definitional pairs thing -- Interference/Obstruction and Privileged/Protected. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39pm. |