![]() |
|
|||
|
This is often called the "catch and carry."
Thank you, DG, for reinforcing this concept here. I've have tried futilely for years to convince my colleagues of this, but they all insist on using "catch and carry" to mean, "If the fielder catches the ball on live ball territory and then carries it into DBT, the ball is dead and the runners are awarded 1 base." They even tell coaches this during the pre-game. While that rule may apply to the particular game we're officiating, it isn't "catch and carry." Drives me crazy. When was that part about a "seating area" added? I wonder if it applies to an aisle between the seats.
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Caught fly ball in foul territory, then fielder goes out of play | Bluefoot | Softball | 1 | Thu Jun 15, 2006 10:23am |
| Fielder loses possession; Ball out of play | Lapopez | Baseball | 37 | Fri Aug 12, 2005 04:49pm |
| Interference with Fielder - Batted Ball | Blue37 | Baseball | 6 | Tue Mar 08, 2005 10:48am |
| batter interference with ball thrown by fielder | Ernie Marshall | Baseball | 5 | Tue Apr 23, 2002 07:37am |
| T/F - A fielder in possession of the ball can never be guilty of obstruction. | Dakota | Softball | 2 | Thu Oct 11, 2001 07:13pm |