The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 24, 2007, 11:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
This is often called the "catch and carry."

Thank you, DG, for reinforcing this concept here. I've have tried futilely for years to convince my colleagues of this, but they all insist on using "catch and carry" to mean, "If the fielder catches the ball on live ball territory and then carries it into DBT, the ball is dead and the runners are awarded 1 base." They even tell coaches this during the pre-game.

While that rule may apply to the particular game we're officiating, it isn't "catch and carry." Drives me crazy.

When was that part about a "seating area" added? I wonder if it applies to an aisle between the seats.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Caught fly ball in foul territory, then fielder goes out of play Bluefoot Softball 1 Thu Jun 15, 2006 10:23am
Fielder loses possession; Ball out of play Lapopez Baseball 37 Fri Aug 12, 2005 04:49pm
Interference with Fielder - Batted Ball Blue37 Baseball 6 Tue Mar 08, 2005 10:48am
batter interference with ball thrown by fielder Ernie Marshall Baseball 5 Tue Apr 23, 2002 07:37am
T/F - A fielder in possession of the ball can never be guilty of obstruction. Dakota Softball 2 Thu Oct 11, 2001 07:13pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1