ozzy6900 |
Wed Jul 18, 2007 11:11am |
Quote:
Originally Posted by njdevs00cup
Great point Ozzy! Although the runner was on, he took the rubber from the stretch position to appeal. The pitcher wasn't sure about the entire appeal process and the coach did not directly ask BU for an appeal. We've been told by our assignor not to coach a player or coach through the appeal process.
|
Okay, FED rules, F1 on the rubber in the set with his hands together. You put the ball in play. F1 is confused but not making any movement to the plate, listens to his coach and steps off (properly).
This is not a balk. Had he delivered to the batter, it would technically be a balk under FED if he didn't stop all motion beforehand. Once he stepped off, F1 was okay.
Your assigner is absolutely correct in what he told you. You are an umpire not a coach. Now, if the coach comes to you and asks how to do an appeal, you can advise him but not the players. Take this information from your assigner throughout your umpiring career and it will alleviate many problems that amateur umpires run into.
Regards
|