The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   What's the call? (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/36169-whats-call.html)

bmiguel Mon Jul 02, 2007 12:30pm

What's the call?
 
Ok, here's the situation. There is a runner on 2nd base (a), and a runner on 1st base (b); the batter hits to deep right. Runner (a) misses third base and goes home touching home plate. Runner (b) goes home without missing any bases.
If the team on defense appeals to 3rd are both runners out because (b) passed up (a)? Or, is runner (a) out and (b) sent back to 2nd base because the ball is dead? Or is (a) out and (b) save?
To avoid the appeal do both runners have to go back and touch home plate and then 3rd base in their reverse order, or only runner (a)?
Can anyone help me with this one?
B

Rich Ives Mon Jul 02, 2007 12:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bmiguel
Ok, here's the situation. There is a runner on 2nd base (a), and a runner on 1st base (b); the batter hits to deep right. Runner (a) misses third base and goes home touching home plate. Runner (b) goes home without missing any bases.
If the team on defense appeals to 3rd are both runners out because (b) passed up (a)? Or, is runner (a) out and (b) sent back to 2nd base because the ball is dead? Or is (a) out and (b) save?
To avoid the appeal do both runners have to go back and touch home plate and then 3rd base in their reverse order, or only runner (a)?
Can anyone help me with this one?
B

The answers are clearly spelled out in the rule book.

Only a) is out. Unless a) was the third out, b) scores.

Once b) scored a) cannot return.

7.10(b) APPROVED RULING: (1) No runner may return to touch a missed base after a following runner has scored.


7.12
Unless two are out, the status of a following runner is not affected by a preceding runner’s failure to touch or retouch a base. If, upon appeal, the preceding runner is the third out, no runners following him shall score. If such third out is the result of a force play, neither preceding nor following runners shall score.

UmpJM Mon Jul 02, 2007 12:44pm

bmiguel,

If the runner on 2nd (most commonly referred to as R2) misses 3B and the runner on 1st (R1) scores behind him, the defense has the opportunity to nullify R2's run and obtain an out by executing a properly constituted appeal of the R2's miss of 3B.

As described, there is no opportunity for the defense to obtain an out on the R1, nor have him "returned" to any base. R1 did NOT "pass" R2 because of the fact that R2 missed 3B.

Once R1 scores following R2, R2 has lost the opportunity to correct his miss of 3B.

The only affect that R2's miss could possibly have on R1 in this sitch is if the appeal of R2's miss of 3B was the third out of the half inning. If it was, R1's run would be negated per:

Quote:

7.12
Unless two are out, the status of a following runner is not affected by a preceding runner’s failure to touch or retouch a base. If, upon appeal, the preceding runner is the third out, no runners following him shall score. If such third out is the result of a force play, neither preceding nor following runners shall score.
JM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1