The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Need Confirmation (or clarification) (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/36121-need-confirmation-clarification.html)

Bassman Sat Jun 30, 2007 10:43pm

Need Confirmation (or clarification)
 
OK here's the situation:

In NFBR game Thursday night, R1 was on first. Pitcher was in the stretch, attempted a pickoff throw to first, and overthrew. My partner initially awarded R1 third. HOWEVER!!! Since the pitcher's pivot foot was still in contact with the rubber when he made the throw, I conferred with him and R1 was sent back to second. R1's coach went postal and insisted that his runner gets third. His reason? He thought that since the pitcher didn't commit to the plate, the pitcher balked. (go figure coaches don't know the rules).

Thoughts?

RPatrino Sat Jun 30, 2007 10:48pm

Maybe I'm missing something here, but where does a runner get a two base award for a balk? Or do we add one base for the overthrow to the one base for the balk and he ends up at third?

What does NFBR stand for.. Rules are "NOW Fudged Beyond Recongnition" League?

Bassman Sat Jun 30, 2007 10:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RPatrino
Maybe I'm missing something here, but where does a runner get a two base award for a balk? Or do we add one base for the overthrow to the one base for the balk and he ends up at third?

What does NFBR stand for.. Rules are "NOW Fudged Beyond Recongnition" League?

First off, no balk was called since the pitcher didn't feint the throw to first. Second, to be truthful, I conferred with my partner, corrected him, and he placed R1 back to his proper position.

BTW, NFBR is Niagara Frontier Babe Ruth.

RPatrino Sat Jun 30, 2007 10:54pm

Bassman, good answer!! Based on the sitch you posted, the R1 should never have been awarded third, unless of course he was off the rubber when he threw the ball OOB.

Bassman Sat Jun 30, 2007 10:56pm

Yep. One base at the time of a pitch, two at the time of a throw!

SanDiegoSteve Sat Jun 30, 2007 11:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bassman
Yep. One base at the time of a pitch, two at the time of a throw!

What? What does this have to do with a pickoff at first?

This could be very confusing if you use it for an explanation.

One base because the pitcher was on the rubber when he threw the ball out of play is the explanation you want to use here. Two bases if he was off the rubber, and therefore like any other fielder at the time he threw it out of play.

TOP and TOT are terms used for other rule interpretations, not this one.

Bassman Sun Jul 01, 2007 07:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
What? What does this have to do with a pickoff at first?

This could be very confusing if you use it for an explanation.

One base because the pitcher was on the rubber when he threw the ball out of play is the explanation you want to use here. Two bases if he was off the rubber, and therefore like any other fielder at the time he threw it out of play.

TOP and TOT are terms used for other rule interpretations, not this one.

My bad! Merci'


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1